[A Charles Dickens Selection] [published by Charles Dickens
[A Charles Dickens Selection] (By: Charles Dickens) [published: July, 1996]

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


A Charles Dickens selection is a collection of the best bits of Dickens' writing chosen to make you smile and think. It introduces you to a Dickensian world of larger than life characters such as Fagin from Oliver Twist and Miss Havisham from great Expectations. There are descriptions of poverty and oppression in Victorian England but also lots of light-hearted writing which shows why Dicken is famous as a comic writer. .

About Charles Dickens

See more books from this Author
Charles Dickens, perhaps the best British novelist of the Victorian era, was born in Portsmouth, Hampshire, England on February 7, 1812. His happy early childhood was interrupted when his father was sent to debtors' prison, and young Dickens had to go to work in a factory at age twelve. Later, he took jobs as an office boy and journalist before publishing essays and stories in the 1830s. His first novel, The Pickwick Papers, made him a famous and popular author at the age of twenty-five. Subsequent works were published serially in periodicals and cemented his reputation as a master of colorful characterization, and as a harsh critic of social evils and corrupt institutions. His many books include Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Great Expectations, Little Dorrit, A Christmas Carol, and A Tale of Two Cities. Dickens married Catherine Hogarth in 1836, and the couple had nine children before separating in 1858 when he began a long affair with Ellen Ternan, a young actress. Despite the scandal, Dickens remained a public figure, appearing often to read his fiction. He died in 1870, leaving his final novel, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, unfinished.
Published July 9, 1996 by Heinemann. 208 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Literature & Fiction. Fiction