23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang

87%

10 Critic Reviews

This...is a book that will confirm your convictions if you believe free-market capitalism is evil...
-Guardian

Synopsis


Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.
If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming,
Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us
about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to
question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the
dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the
freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans,
is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and
wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and
doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers
a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of
becoming slaves of the market.
 

About Ha-Joon Chang

See more books from this Author
Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the bestselling Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism. His Web site is www.hajoonchang.net.
 
Published January 2, 2011 by Bloomsbury Press. 305 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction
Bookmark Counts:
2
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
All: 10 | Positive: 10 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Aug 30 2010

Eminently accessible, with a clearly liberal (or at least anticonservative) bent, but with surprises along the way...

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Paul Mason on Sep 24 2010

This...is a book that will confirm your convictions if you believe free-market capitalism is evil...

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You... | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by John Gray on Aug 28 2010

For anyone who wants to understand capitalism not as economists or politicians have pictured it but as it actually operates, this book will be invaluable.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You... | See more reviews from Guardian

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Sep 13 2010

An advocate of big, active government and capitalism as distinct from a free market, Chang presents an enlightening précis of modern economic thought—and all the places it's gone wrong...

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Financial Times

Good
Reviewed by James Crabtree on Sep 05 2010

...the thrust of his engaging case for a more cautious and caring era of globalisation is difficult to dispute. Anyone keen to repeat the unlikely success of Park Tae-Joon would do well to read it.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You... | See more reviews from Financial Times

Huffington Post

Excellent
Reviewed by Ian Fletcher on Mar 24 2011

This is a theoretically profound book...It is thus a book for anyone who has grasped that America is being strangled by a set of myths about what capitalism is and how it works. Debunking these myths is thus job one.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You...

City Book Review

Good
Reviewed by C.D. Quyn on May 09 2012

He teaches us the measures needed to stay on the positive side of the separation of wealth, as a nation, as corporations, and as individuals.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You...

Daily Kos

Excellent
Reviewed by Tod OL Mundo on Jan 07 2012

23 Things They Don’t Tell You about Capitalism is an entertaining and well-written book, replete with both contemporary and historical examples to illustrate the author’s points.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You...

Portland Book Review

Good
Reviewed by Norman West on Jun 29 2012

There are...Things that will permanently change the way you look at the news and our government. This is a must-read if you believe something’s wrong but don’t know what.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You...

London School of Economics

Good
Reviewed by Joan Wilson on Feb 07 2013

It’s not hard to see why Chang’s book is an international bestseller: each of one his 23 propositions provides a truly fascinating insight into the pitfalls of free-market capitalism.

Read Full Review of 23 Things They Don't Tell You...

Reader Rating for 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 176 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Vikas

Vikas 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

James J. Stoodt

James J. Stoodt 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×