A Bitter Truth by Charles Todd

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

.... to bring the plot to a conclusion, the mother-son author duo reached out to contrive a solution that has little if any foundation.
-Spinetingler Magazine

Synopsis

“Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”
New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”
Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

 

About Charles Todd

See more books from this Author
Charles Todd is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and one stand-alone novel. A mother-and-son writing team, they live in Delaware and North Carolina.
 
Published August 30, 2011 by William Morrow. 368 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Bitter Truth
All: 7 | Positive: 5 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Below average
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on Aug 15 2011

The least believable tale from the Todd...finds Bess, Roger and the Aussie traipsing all over France and England and bumping into each other.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth | See more reviews from Kirkus

Washington Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Muriel Dobbin on Aug 26 2011

This is a book that should be read and valued as a reminder of a terrible chapter in history.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth | See more reviews from Washington Times

Deseret News

Excellent
Reviewed by Susie Boyce on Sep 17 2011

... readers will enjoy the complex characters, significant amount of intrigue and the surprising conclusion offered ..

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth

Spinetingler Magazine

Below average
Reviewed by Theodore Feit on Feb 11 2012

.... to bring the plot to a conclusion, the mother-son author duo reached out to contrive a solution that has little if any foundation.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth

Devourer of Books

Good
Reviewed by Jen on May 21 2012

Bess always seems to get herself in these situations in a slightly improbable manner and this is no exception, but the plot of A Bitter Truth actually seemed more plausible than the first two.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth

The Picky Girl

Good
Reviewed by Jenn on May 31 2012

Bess comes under suspicion and will have to prove herself at every turn, and honestly, that’s what I loved about this book.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth

Book Dilettante

Good
Reviewed by Harvee Lau on Aug 21 2011

A gripping historical mystery that is atmospheric and tense.

Read Full Review of A Bitter Truth

Reader Rating for A Bitter Truth
71%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 170 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review