A Certain Summer by Patricia Beard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Beard's attention to historical detail and understanding of the realities and short-falls of privilege make this a satisfying beach read.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A richly evocative debut novel set in an exclusive summer colony along the east coast during the aftermath of World War II—for fans of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford.

"Nothing ever changes at Wauregan.” That mystique is the tradition of the idyllic island colony off the shore of Long Island, the comforting tradition that its summer dwellers have lived by for over half a century. But in the summer of 1948, after a world war has claimed countless men—even those who came home—the time has come to deal with history’s indelible scars.

Helen Wadsworth’s husband, Arthur, was declared missing in action during an OSS operation in France, but the official explanation was mysteriously nebulous. Now raising a teenage son who longs to know the truth about his father, Helen turns to Frank Hartman—her husband’s best friend and his partner on the mission when he disappeared. Frank, however, seems more intent on filling the void in Helen’s life that Arthur’s absence has left. As Helen’s affection for Frank grows, so does her guilt, especially when Peter Gavin, a handsome Marine who was brutally tortured by the Japanese and has returned with a faithful war dog, unexpectedly stirs new desires. With her heart pulled in multiple directions, Helen doesn’t know whom to trust—especially when a shocking discovery forever alters her perception of both love and war.

Part mystery, part love story, and part insider’s view of a very private world, A Certain Summer resonates in the heart long after the last page is turned.
 

About Patricia Beard

See more books from this Author
Patricia Beard is the author of nine nonfiction books and hundreds of nationally published magazine articles. She is the former features editor of Town & Country, former editor-at-large of Elle, and the former style features editor of Mirabella magazine. Beard is also the founder and president of Willowbrook Partners, LLC, for which she writes, oversees the design, and produces privately commissioned books.
 
Published May 21, 2013 by Gallery Books. 338 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Certain Summer
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Jul 08 2013

Beard's attention to historical detail and understanding of the realities and short-falls of privilege make this a satisfying beach read.

Read Full Review of A Certain Summer | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for A Certain Summer
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×