A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

85%

11 Critic Reviews

Maas has a way of creating characters that are realistic even if the story may not be, describing them in such a way that you believe that you’re seeing them in front of you! Her storytelling is superb...
-Guardian

Synopsis

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
 

About Sarah J. Maas

See more books from this Author
Sarah J. Maas is a New York native who currently lives in the California desert. This is her first novel, though she has a large on-line fanbase who eagerly support her writing. sjmaas.livejournal.com
 
Published May 5, 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens. 432 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Court of Thorns and Roses
All: 11 | Positive: 8 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 17 2015

The plot is not without its occasional weak moments, most notably a late exposition dump and a too-easy final riddle. Nevertheless, the sexual tension and deadly action are well-supported by Maas’ expertly drawn, multidimensional characters and their nuanced interpersonal dynamics.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by The Fanatical Reader on Nov 06 2015

Maas has a way of creating characters that are realistic even if the story may not be, describing them in such a way that you believe that you’re seeing them in front of you! Her storytelling is superb...

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Ayesha on Sep 05 2015

All in all, just go and read this book if you’re a older teenager and just need something new to read. This book won’t let you down.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by The Fanatical Reader on Aug 24 2015

Maas has a way of creating characters that are realistic even if the story may not be, and then describing them in such a way that you believe that you’re about to look up from the page to see them in front of you.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Wanderer378 on Aug 17 2015

I completed this book in two sittings, which shows how much I loved it: the story is very fast paced and will leave you on the edge of your seat! An amazing start to the new upcoming series !

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by HannahLoveBook on Aug 13 2015

Overall, I have been able to place this novel within the seven books which I have rated five stars so far this year. I loved it so much and advise anyone looking at this review to go and read the book now.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Lifeissweetinbooks on Jun 15 2015

...what I found quite frustrating was what Freya did...On the other hand I found the relation of this book to beauty and the beast quite thrilling and I could definitely see the resemblance to the actual story...

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Antonine Seed on May 14 2015

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! It was sooooooooo amazing! It was written so beautifully and was full of plot twists that kept me hooked. The characters weren't predictable, but they were vivid like Maas' other books and I loved it so much.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by HorseLover3000 on Apr 08 2015

Overall I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses, as I am sure you can tell! I would rate it 10/10 and recommend it to teenage girls and young adults. My only criticism is how long I have to wait for the next installment!

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by CaraErica on Apr 04 2015

Trust me this book grasp extends far beyond just YA readers with a style that will leave any fans of L.J. Smith, Cassandra Clare or George R.R. Martin spellbound. For me, an immediate must read...

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Laura137 on Mar 23 2015

...A Court of Thorns and Roses can feel a little predictable. I'm guessing the next two books will expand the world Maas has created and further the storyline, moving away from the original story and making it more unique.

Read Full Review of A Court of Thorns and Roses | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for A Court of Thorns and Roses
93%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1363 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×