A Dangerous Age by Ellen Gilchrist
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery O’Connor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form.

A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away.

As the Washington Post has said, "To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."
 

About Ellen Gilchrist

See more books from this Author
She is the author of 16 works of fiction, including the story collection Victory Over Japan, which won the National Book Award & most recently, The Cabal & Other Stories. She lives in Fayetteville, Arkansas, Ocean Springs, Mississippi & New Orleans, Louisiana.
 
Published May 13, 2008 by Algonquin Books. 256 pages
Genres: War, Literature & Fiction, Parenting & Relationships. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Dangerous Age

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Three months before Winifred was to be married, her fiancé “perished on September 11, 2001, along with three thousand other perfectly lovely, helpless human beings.” (Gilchrist’s fondness for superlative-laden prose remains unchanged.) Louise, a TV documentary writer/producer, falls into bed and ...

| Read Full Review of A Dangerous Age: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In the latest from Gilchrist—who won the National Book Award for the 1984 story collection Victory over Japan —the grand Raleigh, N.C., wedding between Winifred “Winnie” Hand Abadie and Charles Kane is canceled when Charles perishes in the World Trade Center attacks.

Mar 31 2008 | Read Full Review of A Dangerous Age: A Novel

Bookmarks Magazine

In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away.

As the Washington Post has said...

May 11 2008 | Read Full Review of A Dangerous Age: A Novel

Reader Rating for A Dangerous Age
50%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×