A Dangerous Fiction by Barbara Rogan
A Mystery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Someone in the New York publishing world is targeting literary agent Jo Donovan, the appealing, empathetic narrator of this clever mystery from Rogan...
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans of The Spellman Files and Maisie Dobbs
 
“Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”
—NPR

Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City’s literati. At thirty-five, she’s the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan’s wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read—and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.
 

About Barbara Rogan

See more books from this Author
Barbara Rogan is the author of five previous novels, Changing States, Café Nevo, Saving Grace, A Heartbeat Away, and Rowing in Eden. Her books have been translated into eight languages. She lives on Long Island, New York, and is currently at work on her seventh novel.
 
Published July 25, 2013 by Penguin Books. 337 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime, Action & Adventure. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Dangerous Fiction
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Good
on May 06 2013

Someone in the New York publishing world is targeting literary agent Jo Donovan, the appealing, empathetic narrator of this clever mystery from Rogan...

Read Full Review of A Dangerous Fiction: A Mystery | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Above average
on May 18 2013

...a smidgen less romance and a dollop of suspense would have been welcome.

Read Full Review of A Dangerous Fiction: A Mystery | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for A Dangerous Fiction
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 50 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×