A Fever of the Blood by Oscar de Muriel
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

He wants to capture Ardglass alive, but it’s a mission fraught with peril...More fun than a plateful of haggis: a delightful read.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

This riveting new detective novel evokes a spellbinding concoction of crime, history, and horror—perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle and P.D. James.


New Year's Day, 1889.



In Edinburgh's lunatic asylum, a patient escapes as a nurse lays dying. Leading the manhunt are legendary local Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray and Londoner-in-exile Inspector Ian Frey.



Before the murder, the suspect was heard in whispered conversation with a fellow patient—a girl who had been mute for years. What made her suddenly break her silence? And why won't she talk again? Could the rumours about black magic be more than superstition?



McGray and Frey track a devious psychopath far beyond their jurisdiction, through the worst blizzard in living memory, into the shadow of Pendle Hill—home of the Lancashire witches—where unimaginable danger awaits.
 

About Oscar de Muriel

See more books from this Author
Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City. He is a violinist, translator, chemist, and writer who lives in Lancashire.
 
Published April 4, 2017 by Pegasus Books. 432 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Fever of the Blood
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Jan 23 2017

He wants to capture Ardglass alive, but it’s a mission fraught with peril...More fun than a plateful of haggis: a delightful read.

Read Full Review of A Fever of the Blood: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Sep 13 2017

...the most impressive aspect of the novel is its detailed, vivid characters, driven by powerful emotions and full of surprises.

Read Full Review of A Fever of the Blood: A Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Rate this book!

Add Review
×