A Gaijin's Guide to Japan by Ben Stevens
An alternative look at Japanese life, history and culture

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


From the Bestselling author of THE ENNIN MYSTERIES

(***The AMAZON US #1 Bestseller - The Ennin Mysteries: Collected Stories 1-5, 2014/11/29*** '...The continuing saga of that famous Japanese detective, the illustrious Ennin-sensei... Highly entertaining, although parting slightly from Japanese / oriental myth and customs, thus making the stories more accessible to the western mindset...' Qualánqui / Amazon.)


An alternative look at Japanese life, history and culture.

Your Rough Guide or Lonely Planet book can tell you where to stay or what to see, but how do you really get under the skin of Japan?

In this book long-term Japan resident Ben Stevens (CONFESSIONS OF A JAPANESE TEMPLE GARDENER, BIG SOUND TEMPLE) explores the serious and the frivolous, the history and the obsessions of a fascinating nation.

Taking an A-Z walk through Japanese culture, A GAIJIN'S GUIDE TO JAPAN looks at everything from akachochin bars to chikan (the weird blokes who touch you up on trains), geisha, inari shrines, karaoke, omikuji (sacred lottery) and ending up at zen.

With a fair sprinkling of celebrity mentions - from David Beckham to soap opera star Yong-sama - and handy guides to kanji and sushi this is the perfect book for the Japanophile in all of us.

Ideal for readers planning a visit to Japan but also to armchair fans of Japanese culture.

Amazon reviews for THE ENNIN MYSTERIES

'I confess to being addicted to them for the depiction of medieval Japan, the characters and the enjoyable stories. I treasure each Ennin mystery that I have...' westernwood

'This Japanese detective is a fine addition to the burgeoning field of Asian historical detectives which began with Judge Dee (China) and runs through I.P. Parker's Akitada...' Mcb.

'Once you start this, I'm betting you won't be able to set it down until you finish it...' Judy

'A fascinating crime-mystery book... The author weaves intrigue, subterfuge and cunning into a very enjoyable story...' J. Cepeda

'In the tradition of Holmes and Watson, transferred to Japan... Historical setting and cultural background are excellently researched...' D. Werdin

'Wonderful... Like a Japanese room arrangement with clean lines keeping clutter to a minimum...' AcerAcer

'If you like the Akitada books, you will enjoy this....' Mamakile

'The Sensei is a brilliant detective. Ben Stevens, as always rocks. He's one heck of a storyteller...' Lisa

'Atmosphere, poetry and menace... Conan Doyle-ish...' ThisandThat

'A feudal Japanese Sherlock Holmes... This ever-evolving excellent series... Vivid imagery and graphic detail which are a trademark of this writer...' Deborah Chaytor

'Try it... and like it... I don't look for mysteries from the middle ages, even ones set in Japan, but for some reason I love this series... Well-written...' Amazon Customer

'The story develops wonderfully...' Dave. N

'Loved it!... Simply amazed... I thoroughly enjoyed this read...' Edwina Callan

'Cleverly written and filled with facts regarding old Japan.... Very similar to Holmes and Watson...' Eileen Sedgwick

'If you like the Akitada books, you will enjoy this...' Mamakile

'I loved this... Very finely written...' MaidenStull

'A prime example of deductive reasoning, set within feudal Japan...' Jennifer

'Ennin and his faithful servant are the Holmes and Watson of the East. The mysteries are well plotted. Sesshu is the Moriarty of the piece. If you are a Sherlock fan you should like Ennin...' Amazon Customer, NJ United States

'I hope to see more of these types of stories...' Kris Patterson

'The mysteries are intriguing and unusual... Couldn't put the stories down... Well worth the price...' Jay Gold

'Good book... the story takes you back in time...' Santex

'Delightful short story... Enjoy!...' PeaTee (TOP 500 REVIEWER)

'Atmospheric, intriguing and entertaining... feels as if it is both contemporary and traditional. A rare achievement...' Kenny51

'I will keep ordering these as these are the kind of stories I like...' Ralph A. Lanham

About Ben Stevens

See more books from this Author
Ben Stevens splits his year between homes in Japan and London. He has been fascinated with Far Eastern culture all his life and his first book, From Lee To Li, a guide to martial arts heroes is published in spring 2009
Published October 23, 2009 by The Friday Project. 275 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Travel, History. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for A Gaijin's Guide to Japan

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review