A Gladiator Dies Only Once by Steven Saylor
The Further Investigations of Gordianus the Finder

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



Steven Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa series of novels, set in the late Roman Republic and featuring Gordianus the Finder, has garnered unusual acclaim from readers and reviewers alike, establishing him as one of the pre-eminent historical crime writers. In A Gladiator Dies Only Once, the second collection of his award-winning stories featuring Gordianus, Saylor more than meets his own high standards. Set during period between the events of his novels Roman Blood and Catalina's Riddle, these previously untold adventures range from twisted search for truth behind a threatening blind item in the Acta Diurna ("The Consul's Wife") and a kidnapping and murder during the revolt of Sertorius ("The White Fawn") to the story behind Cicero's discovery of Archimedes's tomb ("Archimedes Tomb") and a perplexing domestic situation in Gordianus's own home ("If a Cyclops Could Vanish in a Glimpse of an Eye.")

These tales from the early career of Gordianus - when his adopted son Eco was still a mute boy and his wife Bethesda was but his slave - will delight Saylor's many fans while illuminating the details of the ancient world like no other writer can.

About Steven Saylor

See more books from this Author
STEVEN SAYLOR is the author of acclaimed historical mystery novels featuring Gordianus the Finder, including The Triumph of Caesar, as well as the internationally bestselling historical novels Empire and Roma. He has appeared on the History Channel as an expert on Roman politics and life. He divides his time between Berkeley, California and Austin, Texas.
Published April 1, 2010 by Minotaur Books. 288 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Gladiator Dies Only Once

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Decimus Brutus wants him to investigate his wife Sempronia, whom he suspects of adultery and murderous plotting in “The Consul’s Wife.” Gordianus investigates murder in “Archimedes’ Tomb” and the more ingenious “Death by Eros,” an apparent return from the grave in “A Gladiator Dies Only Once,” an...

| Read Full Review of A Gladiator Dies Only Once: T...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

As in The House of the Vestals (1997), Saylor's previous collection featuring Gordianus the Finder, these nine carefully researched stories cover the early phase of the ancient Roman sleuth's career, affording fans the chance to witness the growth of some important personal and political relatio...

May 02 2005 | Read Full Review of A Gladiator Dies Only Once: T...

Reviewing the Evidence

A GLADIATOR DIES ONLY ONCE is the second collection of short stories by Steven Saylor featuring Gordianus the Finder.

| Read Full Review of A Gladiator Dies Only Once: T...

The Best Reviews

These nine tales all written in the past decade take place in Ancient Rome in the middle of the first century BC and star Gordianus the finder whose clients provides him with plenty of work (payment is a different story).

Jul 04 2005 | Read Full Review of A Gladiator Dies Only Once: T...

Reader Rating for A Gladiator Dies Only Once

An aggregated and normalized score based on 57 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review