No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



In his new novel, A Mouthful of Tongues, Paul Di Filippo, cult author of Ciphers, The Steampunk Trilogy, and Ribofunk, makes his boldest fictional statement yet. Writing in the tradition of Kathy Acker and Samuel R. Delany, but with a subversive brio all his own, Di Filippo here imagines a true erotic revolution, a crusade of the libido that will topple a corrupt and jaded future world order, and possibly much besides . . . Kerry Hackett is just another corporate pawn in the urban cauldron of 2015, besieged on all sides by those who would possess and exploit her. Driven to desperation, she undergoes a mysterious transformation into an alchemical goddess, wanderer of the timelines. In a magnificently evoked parallel Brazil, a place of seedy splendor and charismatic lusts, Kerry, or that which she has become, tests her carnal arsenal on targets deserving and undeserving; but the attention of a more powerful agency has been attracted, and a yet stranger metamorphosis awaits. A tale of heartbreak, revenge, and liberation, written in Paul Di Filippo's most fantastically effervescent prose, A Mouthful of Tongues is a work of science fiction which crosses boundaries and breaks taboos with brilliant savage abandon. It can only add to its author's rapidly growing following, and will shake the world of speculative fiction to its very foundations. "Out of a rich impasto of language, a story that is sensual, sexual, and hot takes shape around one of the most engaging heroines since Southern and Hoffenberg's Candy." --Samuel R. Delany "Sacred sin, that's Di Filippo's force here. We have participated in a transpersonal act that lifts our consciousness above the situational polarities of morality and into the psyche's unknown, where objective energetic processes fuse dream and matter--and make us us. A ruthless fantasy of aggressive sexuality and archaic intentions." --A. A. Attanasio

About Paul Di Filippo

See more books from this Author
Paul Di Filippo has been nominated for the Nebula, Hugo, Theodore Sturgeon and World Fantasy Awards and has won the British Science Fiction Association Award. He has sold two hundred plus stories, as well as several novels and novellas, such as the multi-award- nominated A Year in the Linear City. He was part of the first wave of both steampunk and biopunk, with influential volumes The Steampunk Trilogy and Ribofunk. He is also one of the preeminent critics and reviewers in the science fiction field, with his work appearing regularly in The Barnes & Noble Review and elsewhere. He lives in Providence, Rhode Island, with his partner of some 37 years, Deborah Newton, a world-renowned knitwear designer.
Published April 1, 2002 by Wildside Press. 184 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Erotica, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A MOUTHFUL OF TONGUES

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

For all her godlike powers and kinky empowerment, however, this new monster verges on the pulp-era SF female, a sexually voracious man-eater to whom men ecstatically succumb with lots of slime involved.

| Read Full Review of A MOUTHFUL OF TONGUES: HER TO...

SF Site

In time, after bearing a Bloodchild born of menstrual fluids, saliva and the wads of tissue used in substitution for sanitary pads, Kerry resumes her original human form, and abandons Arlindo and the hotel to spread both miracles and sexual mayhem throughout the town.

| Read Full Review of A MOUTHFUL OF TONGUES: HER TO...

Rate this book!

Add Review