A Map of Tulsa by Benjamin Lytal
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

it would be easy to dismiss A Map of Tulsa as the work of a young man struggling to stretch short story material into a novel. Less easy to dismiss, however, is the quality of Lytal's writing.
-Guardian

Synopsis

“If Catcher in the Rye has lost its raw clout for recent generations of Internet-suckled American youth, here is a coming-of-age novel to replace it.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The first days of summer: Jim Praley is home from college, ready to unlock Tulsa's secrets. He drives the highways. He forces himself to get out of his car and walk into a bar. He's invited to a party. And there he meets Adrienne Booker; Adrienne rules Tulsa, in her way. A high-school dropout with a penthouse apartment, she takes a curious interest in Jim. Through her eyes, he will rediscover his hometown: its wasted sprawl, the beauty of its late nights, and, at the city's center, the unsleeping light of its skyscrapers.


In the tradition of Michael Chabon's The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, A Map of Tulsa is elegiac, graceful, and as much a story about young love as it is a love letter to a classic American city.




From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Benjamin Lytal

See more books from this Author
BENJAMIN LYTAL has written for the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, Bookforum, the Believer, McSweeney's, Fence, and the Nation. He has worked at the New Yorker, taught at the Pratt Institute, and written a column on new fiction for the New York Sun. Originally from Tulsa, Oklahoma, Lytal graduated from Harvard and lives in Chicago.
 
Published March 26, 2013 by Penguin Books. 266 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Map of Tulsa
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Gary Sernovitz on Apr 16 2013

Youth may be no more than a dream of possibility. But the book: the book is real. And the book, after all, is what we came for.

Read Full Review of A Map of Tulsa: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Times

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by WB Gooderham on May 02 2014

it would be easy to dismiss A Map of Tulsa as the work of a young man struggling to stretch short story material into a novel. Less easy to dismiss, however, is the quality of Lytal's writing.

Read Full Review of A Map of Tulsa: A Novel | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for A Map of Tulsa
59%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 30 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×