A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis
(The Searchers)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Readers will savor getting to know this singular heroine, a cop who feels the call of a lost child as sharply as the knife’s edge that she uses to score her own skin.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself...
"I absolutely love when I find a new mystery series to follow and enjoy!... I just couldn't stop reading... I loved the characters and want more! 4 out of 5 stars." Booked on a Feeling
Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.
As the hours tick by, and the search becomes a hunt for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried--her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death--threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.
Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Megan Abbott, and Lisa Gardner.
What readers are saying about A Map of the Dark:
"This book was so good on so many levels.... Fantastic read, highly recommended." For The Love Of Books
"Loved this! A Map of the Dark has a super lead character who harnesses her own demons in order to help solve the case of three missing girls. I couldn't get up from my chair until I'd read it all!" Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Sometimes you find, amidst all the 'new and wonderful series' a book that marks the start of a series you think you will really like. This is such a book... It even brought a tear to my eyes. And it is not every day that I read a book that has this effect on me." Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Wow, this was such a fast paced read... A Map of the Dark is an exciting start to a new series which I will certainly be keeping an eye on." Hooked From Page One
 

About Karen Ellis

See more books from this Author
 
Published January 2, 2018 by Mulholland Books. 305 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Map of the Dark
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Oct 17 2017

Readers will savor getting to know this singular heroine, a cop who feels the call of a lost child as sharply as the knife’s edge that she uses to score her own skin.

Read Full Review of A Map of the Dark (The Search... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×