A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market by John Allen Paulos

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.
 

About John Allen Paulos

See more books from this Author
John Allen Paulos is a professor of mathematics at Temple University. His books include the bestseller "Innumeracy: Mathematical" "Illiteracy and Its Consequences "(H&W, 1988), "A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market," and "A Mathematician Reads the Newspapers,
 
Published October 11, 2007 by Basic Books. 226 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Science & Math. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Mathematics/Temple Univ.) invested in WorldCom, he averaged down and bought more WorldCom, he bought WorldCom calls, and he bought WorldCom on margin.

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this short primer (“just the gist with an occasional jest”), Paulos tackles 12 of the most common arguments for God, including the argument from design, the idea that a “moral universality” points to a creator God, the notion of first causes and the argument from coincidence, among others.

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

QPB, Library of Science, Natural Science Book Club, Astronomy Book Club, Reader's Subscription and Newbridge Executive Program alternates.

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

""This book is not concerned with the history of great theorems, but with bridging, or at least clarifying, some of the gaps between formal mathematics and its applications."" This statement of purpose, more clearly than the book's title, best sums up Paulos's goals in his latest work.

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Math professor Paulos's irreverent investigation of the often faulty use of statistics and fact in newspaper articles.

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The efficient-market theorists—many of whom believe the stock market is so inherently efficient that everything one needs to know about a company is reflected in its stock price—get the most thorough joshing from Paulos: never able to resist a joke, he tells one about how many efficient market th...

| Read Full Review of A Mathematician Plays The Sto...

Reader Rating for A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market
58%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 116 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×