A Midsummer Tights Dream by Louise Rennison

62%

17 Critic Reviews

Overall, I thought that the book was very funny and good; it just wasn't for me. However, I would recommend it to teenage girls who want a funny and heart-warming read.
-Guardian

Synopsis

Louise Rennison, nationally bestselling author of the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series, returns with another hilarious adventure starring Georgia’s cousin Tallulah Casey.
 
In A Midsummer Tights Dream, Tallulah’s second great (mis)adventure, things are starting to look up for the budding star. She has been officially admitted to the Dother Hall performing arts program in Yorkshire. Her corkers have done some developing since last term. And she’s picked up some advice on snogging from dear old Georgia. So she’s ready to return to the stage—and face her crushes again.
 
But Tallulah will have more than boy drama to deal with. This term’s project is Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and Tallulah has been cast as Bottom, the fool who spends most of the play with the head of a donkey. Even worse, if the show isn’t a complete success, the school won’t have enough money to stay open for another year.

 

About Louise Rennison

See more books from this Author
Louise Rennison is the internationally bestselling and award-winning author of the angst-filled Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series. She lives in Brighton, the San Francisco of England (apart from the sun, Americans, the Golden Gate Bridge, and earthquakes).
 
Published June 26, 2012 by HarperTeen. 337 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Midsummer Tights Dream
All: 17 | Positive: 11 | Negative: 6

Guardian

Below average
Reviewed by ellathebookworm on Aug 29 2012

Overall, I thought that the book was very funny and good; it just wasn't for me. However, I would recommend it to teenage girls who want a funny and heart-warming read.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream | See more reviews from Guardian

Arlington Library

Above average
Reviewed by Jenny M. on Mar 23 2014

If you liked Tallulah's first adventure, Withering Tights, then you'll love the second installment. I only wish the book had gone into more detail about Dother Hall's problems and the grand end-of-term performance of A Midsummer Night's Dream.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

The Sunday Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Nicolette Jones on Apr 04 2012

This follow-up goes into new realms of funny.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Wondrous Reads

Below average
Reviewed by Prophecy Girl on Apr 21 2012

A lot of the jokes and humour have been seen before.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

So Many Books, So Little Time

Below average
Reviewed by Sophie on Feb 16 2012

A Midsummer Tights Dream is a light, funny read that will cheer up a rainy afternoon.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

A Case for Books

Above average
Reviewed by Anna on Jun 01 2012

Who I would recommend it to: Fans of Chris Higgins or Jaclyn Moriarty. If you fancy a quick and silly read that manages to blend the absurd with some real truisms about growing up as a girl.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Radiant Lit

Below average
Reviewed by Radiant Lit on Aug 01 2012

Louise Rennison is well known for her previous series, Confessions of Georgia Nicolson. However, this series doesn’t seem nearly as ‘raunchy’ or ‘cutting edge’.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

BestChickLit

Good
Reviewed by Rachel Poole on Feb 09 2012

There is a great deal of humour for adult readers too, Tallulah’s youth and innocence both endearing and comical.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Nori's Closet

Good
Reviewed by Nori on Jul 13 2012

Super fast, easy, short read . . . And they will all make you laugh, guaranteed.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Bookster Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Cliona on Apr 15 2012

I understood more of what was happening and the relationships between various characters were explored and developed more.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

House with No Name

Good
Reviewed by Emma Lee-Potter on Feb 17 2012

Warm-hearted, with snappy dialogue and a clutch of laugh-out-loud jokes, girls aged 12 and over will love it.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Chimneys and Magic

Good
Reviewed by Chimneys and Magic on Nov 03 2012

If you fancy a light read that will make you laugh out loud, look no further.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Teenage Fiction for All Ages

Good
Reviewed by Milly on Mar 12 2012

This is a very gripping book. You can't put it down. It's one of my favourite books. My favourite part is when Tallulah throws the tambourine in the air and it hits mean Doctor Lightowler on the head!

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Bob's Book Blog

Good
Reviewed by Bob on Mar 01 2012

Very clever parody of Shakespeare’s Midsummer Nights Dream, Northern England and Irish character, and a pre-pubescent girl who is waiting for her corkers to grow.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Into Your Lungs

Below average
Reviewed by Into Your Lungs on Aug 17 2012

While I really like Tallulah as a main character, her friends at Dother Hall lack characterization to the point where I can't even tell them apart.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Well, Pin a Rose on Your Nose

Good
Reviewed by Dee on Aug 09 2012

Tallulah is an amazing character that inspires confidence in her readers.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Bookmarks & Bookshelves

Above average
Reviewed by Gabby on Feb 16 2012

...if you  tend to take things more seriously and don't find  very stupid things funny, then this book isn't for you, That would be the only bad point about  the all of Louise Rennison's books depending on you personality This  book could have you in stitches, or have you throwing it away  by chapter two.

Read Full Review of A Midsummer Tights Dream

Reader Rating for A Midsummer Tights Dream
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 34 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×