A Much Married Man by Nicholas Coleridge
(Thomas Dunne Books)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene, comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs. 
 
A man of wealth and privilege, Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance.  But with all of his money and privilege, Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match.  Running headlong into marriage is Anthony's forte…and his greatest weakness.      As Anthony surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he's under siege. And he's absolutely right. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.
 
 
Meet the wives
 
Amanda: the ravishing first wife.  Unpredictable and mesmerizing, she dared Anthony to fall in love with her, and he took her up on the challenge.  Anthony was head over heels from the first night they danced on the rooftop of his family home.  Of course, the free-spirited Amanda was never cut out for country life, but young love is blind. 

Sandra: the steadfast second wife.  Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra pulled Anthony back from the compelling chaos that surrounded his first wife. Sandra had plans to turn Anthony's estate into a proper family home, until a stunning secret forced her to make a life-altering decision.

Dita: the snobbish third wife. A true force of nature, Dita was smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance.  She enthusiastically stormed through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, and rubbing plenty of people the wrong way, particularly the previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.
 
With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace!  Adding to the crazy mix is the mistress, Nora, a new age hippy and acupuncturist, whom Anthony seduced with disastrous consequences.
 
A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with memorable characters that will stay with readers long after the final page.  Like a modern day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.
 

About Nicholas Coleridge

See more books from this Author
NICHOLAS COLERIDGE, a former newspaper columnist and editor of Harpers & Queen, is now U.K. Managing Director of Condé Nast magazines.  His bestselling novels have been published in twelve languages.  He lives in London and Worcestershire with his family.
 
Published June 12, 2007 by Thomas Dunne Books. 580 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Much Married Man

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The latest from Coleridge (Streetsmart, 2001, etc.), Condé Nast U.K.'s editorial director, is a witty, nimbly plotted upper-crust soap opera, but one that favors glamour over substance.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of A Much Married Man (Thomas Du...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Such self-teasing is much to Coleridge's credit and gives this gigantic canapé of a novel an additional piquancy.

Apr 29 2006 | Read Full Review of A Much Married Man (Thomas Du...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Britain's moneyed upper crust comes in for a slapstick razzing in this class-skewering 10th book (after novels Godchildren and Street

Feb 26 2007 | Read Full Review of A Much Married Man (Thomas Du...

Reader Rating for A Much Married Man
66%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×