A Pigeon's Tale by S. A. Mahan

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

"In this endearing, quasi-science-fiction book for older children – and their parents – a young pigeon must grow up fast to fulfill his destiny. The smoothly written story is divided into short chapters. But even the saddest moments are infused with hope and any serious elements are over-shadowed by the humor permeating the book."
-BlueInk Review

Synopsis

A Blue Ink Starred Review Best Book of 2016.  Walter is a pigeon living with his parents in a rancher's coop when a deranged wildcat attacks and sends them scrambling for their lives. Barely escaping with his life, Walter finds himself in a city where kindly street pigeons teach him about language, philosophy, and politics.
A venture south to find a human family for the winter sees him face more desperate peril as a flock of snow geese help him finish the journey. Finding solace in a dorm room with two young college students, Walter heads home with one of them to a ranch in Texas where he is adopted by the close-knit family and their quirky pets.
Walter forms a quick bond with the scientist grandfather who spends every day with Walter, working on a project in a mysterious tiny shack behind the house. This secret work soon becomes the center of Walter's life--and his fate--when he is thrust into an epic struggle for survival against cosmic forces that threaten to destroy the world.
For fans of Watership Down and The Secret of NIMH, A Pigeon's Tale is a mind-bending sci-fi adventure tale about friendship, loyalty, and destiny.
 

About S. A. Mahan

See more books from this Author
S. A. Mahan is a fiber artist who loves to knit, spin wool, and weave fabrics the way she intertwines her story plots. A rancher and barista, she loves to travel to far-off places and hear from her readers.Mahan is the author of Chrissie's Run, a young adult thriller and finalist for the 2015 Dante Rossetti Young Adult Fiction Award, and The Baby Sea Turtle, a young children's picture book that is a finalist for the Colorado Children's Book Award. A mother of three and a grandmother of six, she currently lives in the Colorado Rocky Mountains with her husband.
 
Published May 18, 2015 by Grouse Mountain Press. 291 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Nature & Wildlife, Action & Adventure. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Pigeon's Tale
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

BlueInk Review

Excellent
on Feb 08 2016

"In this endearing, quasi-science-fiction book for older children – and their parents – a young pigeon must grow up fast to fulfill his destiny. The smoothly written story is divided into short chapters. But even the saddest moments are infused with hope and any serious elements are over-shadowed by the humor permeating the book."

Read Full Review of A Pigeon's Tale

Reader Rating for A Pigeon's Tale
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 49 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review