A Season of Secrets by Anneke Campbell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


A literary twist on the traditional Christmas story, A Season of Secrets is the perfect winter read for fans of Barbara Kingsolver, LOVE, ACTUALLY, and THE FAMILY STONE.

"Expect the unexpected! ... A story with an intriguing premise, an author with a great witty voice, and characters that are well developed and make a great cast." – Storm Goddess Book Reviews

There's Something About Mary—something noticeable—that baby bump she’s sporting. And something no one could ever guess—her prenatal exam shows she’s never had sex. Which really puts tiny Bellingham, Indiana on the map! And thereon hangs the real tale—a funny, warm, surprising one.

Mary’s got her own secrets—lots of them. But so does everyone else in Bellingham. Violet the waitress wants something badly! Dr. Bob has big plans. Joe the Postman has regrets. Cammy has a secret love. And Ted may not be quite as godly as he’d like people to think.

The varied ways the townsfolk welcome this waif from nowhere, enfolding her into their hearts and lives despite the air of mystery and strangeness surrounding her (not to mention the TV cameras and paparazzi), is one part heartwarming, one part laugh-out-loud funny.

“I found a lot of humor in this book, and kept thinking what a genius Campbell was for this plot concept.” – Chick Lit Plus

“An entertaining and refreshingly thought-provoking read that will make you ponder about the mysteries of miracles.” – Jersey Girl Book Reviews

“At first, I was unsure about whether or not I was going to like this book. I didn't know if it was going to be over-the-top religious or the complete opposite, over-the-top anti-religion. Thankfully, A Season of Secrets is neither.” – Every Free Chance Book Reviews

Violet walked back into the living room only to find that Mary had fallen asleep, curled on her side with a pillow between her legs. Violet placed a hand on the girl's shoulder. No reaction. She said her name. Nothing. Was she okay? Her breathing was deep and slow. The girl clearly needed sleep, but she would not be able to go without her. Violet sat down and wondered what to do. Her eye fell on her phone lying n the coffee table and she noticed a whole series of messages, as well as a tweet from Manny.

@ManRose. Is There Room At The Inn For A Contemporary Mary? Read all about it in tomorrow’s Bellingham Tribune (Include link). Please RT

Maybe it would be all right to go without her. She could use a little break. Dance and schmooze and do her yearly job as hostess of the gift exchange. She penned a note, explaining how she could be called on her cell phone from the landline. Mary wouldn’t have to speak, just dial, and Violet would come running home. She deposited the note and a dish of persimmon pudding on the coffee table in case the girl woke up.


About Anneke Campbell

See more books from this Author
Published January 6, 2014 by booksbnimble.com. 244 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction

Reader Rating for A Season of Secrets

An aggregated and normalized score based on 32 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review