A Simple Thing by Kathleen McCleary

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



A Simple Thing is a lovely, truly heartwarming novel about the drastic measures two mothers take to keep their families safe. Kathleen McCleary, the critically acclaimed author of House and Home, tells the intertwining stories of Susannah Delaney and Betty Pavalak. Susannah moves her family to remote Sounder Island—a primitive retreat with no electricity—to escape television, the internet, and the dangerous, corrupting influences of the modern technological world. Decades earlier, Betty also came to the island to escape her demons. A Simple Thing is a poignant and unforgettable novel in the vein of Jacqueline Sheehan’s Lost and Found and The Art of Saying Goodbye by Ellyn Bache. It is a tale of family and friendship that Kristin Hannah fans will take into their hearts.

About Kathleen McCleary

See more books from this Author
Kathleen McCleary's first novel, House and Home, was published in 2008. When she's not writing novels, she works as a bookseller at a bookstore near her home. Her writing has appeared in numerous publications incuding The New York Times, The Washington Post, USA Weekend, Good Housekeeping, More, Health, and Ladies Home Journal. She was a columnist for several years for HGTV.com. She lives in northern Virginia with her husband and two daughters and is currently at work on her third novel.
Published July 24, 2012 by William Morrow Paperbacks. 307 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Simple Thing

All About Romance

See more reviews from this publication

Susannah, who epitomizes the stereotypical "super mom”, has been like a hamster trapped on its wheel with her chauffeuring duties as she takes her kids to “soccer practice, dive team, flute lessons, drum lessons, basketball, Little League, Ecology Club and Young Zookeepers Club.” While other mom...

| Read Full Review of A Simple Thing

Reader Rating for A Simple Thing

An aggregated and normalized score based on 62 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review