A Son of the Circus by John. Irving

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from John Irving's In One Person.

A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.
 

About John. Irving

See more books from this Author
John Irving published his first novel at the age of twenty-six. He has received awards from the Rockefeller Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Guggenheim Foundation; he has won an O. Henry Award, a National Book Award, and an Academy Award.
 
Published September 22, 2009 by Ballantine Books. 706 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Business & Economics, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for A Son of the Circus

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Part murder mystery, part travelogue, part meditation on faith, sexual personae, and prejudice, the story follows Dr. Daruwalla, an orthopedic surgeon who lives in Toronto, back to India, where he was born.

| Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Though there are flashes here of the dramatic verve of The World According to Garp and Cider House Rules , Irving's long-awaited eighth novel is generally a tedious affair: rambling; lacking suspense;

Aug 01 1994 | Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Though there are flashes here of the dramatic verve of The World According to Garp and Cider House Rules , Irving's long-awaited eighth novel is generally a tedious affair: rambling;

| Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

Book Reporter

A nationwide search for the killer takes the reader on a spellbinding tour of India with encounters between street urchins, whores, child stealers and drug sellers.Probably the most ambitious of Irving's books --- because of the intricate plotting, the added element of the murder mystery and the ...

Jan 23 2011 | Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

Entertainment Weekly

Every novel is an act of audacity, but if any book has ever deserved the catchphrase ''monstrous presumption,'' it would have to be John Irving's A Son of the Circus (Random House, $25).

Sep 09 1994 | Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

People

As a hobby, Daruwalla collects blood from circus dwarfs to try to find the genetic basis for dwarfism, but his real passion—and only haven—is the circus.

Nov 14 1994 | Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

The Satirist

The very fact that I speak of reading "A John Irving work," rather than speak of reading "one of John Irving’s works" or "reading Irving" betrays that the works follow a pattern—indeed, an almost cinematic pattern, as if I had just seen "a John Irving production."

| Read Full Review of A Son of the Circus

Reader Rating for A Son of the Circus
68%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 188 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×