A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen
And How He Saved My Life

81%

19 Critic Reviews

Given Bowen’s inherent decency, he might well have turned things around even without his feline friend, but he convincingly makes the case that Bob was the cat-alyst.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

The Instant New York Times Bestseller!

James is a street musician struggling to make ends meet.
Bob is a stray cat looking for somewhere warm to sleep.

When James and Bob meet, they forge a never-to-be-forgotten friendship that has been charming readers from Thailand to Turkey.

A Street Cat Named Bob is an international sensation, landing on the bestseller list in England for 52 consecutive weeks and selling in 26 countries around the world. Now, James and Bob are ready to share their true story with the U.S. in this tale unlike any you've ever read of a cat who possesses some kind of magic.

When street musician James Bowen found an injured cat curled up in the hallway of his apartment building, he had no idea how much his life was about to change. James was living hand to mouth on the streets of London, barely making enough money to feed himself, and the last thing he needed was a pet. Yet James couldn't resist helping the strikingly intelligent but very sick animal, whom he named Bob. He slowly nursed Bob back to health and then sent the cat on his way, imagining that he would never see him again. But Bob had other ideas.

Perfect for fans of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat That Changed the World, this instant classic about the power of love between man and animal has taken the world by storm and is guaranteed to be a huge hit with American fans as well.

 

About James Bowen

See more books from this Author
JAMES BOWEN is a street musician in London. He found Bob the Cat in spring 2007, and the pair have been inseparable ever since.
 
Published July 30, 2013 by Thomas Dunne Books. 289 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Crafts, Hobbies & Home, Literature & Fiction, Self Help. Non-fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon21
Peak Rank on Aug 25 2013
icon3
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Street Cat Named Bob
All: 19 | Positive: 19 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Apr 01 2013

Given Bowen’s inherent decency, he might well have turned things around even without his feline friend, but he convincingly makes the case that Bob was the cat-alyst.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Good
on Jun 10 2013

A rich, moving story of the link between a street-wise cat and a man who earns his living on the streets—perfect for cat lovers.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Examiner

Good
Reviewed by Jaquie Piasta on Sep 01 2013

"A Street Cat Named Bob" is a short, straightforward, and unique read. Many people would be able to enjoy this book, not limited to animal or cat lovers. Bowen's writing style is so honest and clear that it is an art form in itself.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Booklist Online

Good
Reviewed by James Bowen on Apr 24 2013

This is a beautiful, never maudlin story of second chances for both man and beast and a poignant testimony to how much caring for someone—or some feline—can give you renewed direction when you’re down and out

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

AuthorsDen

Good
Reviewed by Dee Owen on May 07 2012

An incredible story two fold. The characters are a homeless man and a sick and homeless cat. The story of a cat finding the man and the book they wrote. The story is true...A must read for all who love a heartwarming story, love cats and just want a good read.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

The Army Rumour Service

Above average
Reviewed by Auld-Yin on Aug 01 2012

Occasionally I like to pick up a feel-good book just for the hell of it so I chose this one. It is the story of a young man from a broken home who ends up on the streets of London, trying to break a drug habit and busking to get money to survive.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

About.com Cats

Good
Reviewed by Franny Syufy on Aug 20 2013

I hope that after reading my review, readers will have the pleasure of reading this book yourselves...While James Bowen literally saved Bob's life, after reading about James' history with drugs, it became inevitable to this reader that Bob would in turn save James.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Yahoo! Voices

Good
Reviewed by Dee Jess on Jun 05 2012

One of the greatest influences in James life has been Bob the cat who turned up on his doorstep one day. Bob has given James a reason to live and put his life back on track. The two were suffering and needed each other...A must read for all who love a heartwarming story, love cats and just want a good read.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Lesa's Book Critiques

Good
Reviewed by Lesa on Aug 31 2013

...A Street Cat Named Bob And How He Saved My Life is a triumphant story of two lost souls who found strength in each other. It's a moving story of hope, triumph, and the power of a relationship so strong that it forever changed two lives.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Before It's News

Good
on Aug 29 2013

...this instant classic about the power of love between man and animal has taken the world by storm and is guaranteed to be a huge hit with American fans as well.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Bibliophile By the Sea

Good
Reviewed by Diane on Sep 20 2013

The book was very enjoyable --- nothing bad happens at the end. It's a story that will appeal to animal lovers everywhere and not just cat lovers.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

http://www.ciao.co.uk

Excellent
on Jan 15 2013

It is a tale of hope and promise and a wonderful insight into the human spirit that reaches out even when it is struggling to survive itself. It is incredible.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

http://www.ciao.co.uk

Good
on Nov 20 2012

Whether or not you are a lover of animals, this book is worthy of a read, it does serve as a stark reminder that there are some people less fortunate than ourselves in the world who are trying to better themselves and it is also a reminder for me that there are abandoned and unloved and wanted animals out there looking for comfort...

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

http://bookboodle.co.uk

Good
Reviewed by Bookboodle on Jan 22 2013

This is a book for cat lovers everywhere and those in need of an uplifting tale of finding companionship and turning your life around against all odds

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

The Conscious Cat

Excellent
Reviewed by Ingrid on Apr 27 2012

James is brutally honest about his past and his struggle to recover from his drug addiction, and he’s equally honest about how much he came to love Bob. Following the journey of these two soulmates was pure joy.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

House with No Name

Good
Reviewed by Emma Lee-Potter on Sep 27 2012

...James’s book about how he and Bob found each other is out in paperback and it’s the most uplifting story I’ve read in ages. Subtitled How One Man and His Cat Found Hope on the Streets, it's a special book – even for people like me who haven't even got a cat.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Teacher Cast

Good
on Sep 19 2013

;Perfect for fans of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat That Changed the World, this instant classic about the power of love between man and animal has taken the world by storm...

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Catsparella

Good
Reviewed by Catsparella on Aug 21 2013

I was immediately engrossed in the story of how James Bowen, a former heroin addict, nursed Bob back to health, and the deep and spiritual connection that formed between these two lost souls, who ended up saving one other by adding meaning and purpose to each other's lives.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

I Have Cat

Good
Reviewed by Tamar on Apr 01 2013

...not surprisingly, it’s Bob in the end who actually saves James. It’s an uplifting and inspiring book.

Read Full Review of A Street Cat Named Bob: And H...

Reader Rating for A Street Cat Named Bob
91%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1907 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×