A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
(Charlotte Holmes Novel)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

...Cavallaro uses the assault as a way to throw suspicion on Holmes as the possible murderer, sidestepping the seriousness of that crime in its own right. This aside, readers will find this to be an involving murder mystery...
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

 

About Brittany Cavallaro

See more books from this Author
Brittany Cavallaro is a poet, fiction writer, and old-school Sherlockian. She is the author of the poetry collection Girl-King and is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. She earned her BA in literature from Middlebury College and her MFA in poetry from the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Currently, she’s a PhD candidate in English literature at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband, cat, and collection of deerstalker caps. Find her at her website, www.brittanycavallaro.com, and on Twitter @skippingstones.
 
Published March 1, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books. 336 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for A Study in Charlotte
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Excellent
on Nov 25 2015

These sleuths may still be in school—and working out of a supply closet with smartphones—but Cavallaro’s crackling dialogue, well-drawn characters, and complicated relationships make this feel like a seamless and sharp renewal of Doyle’s series. An explosive mystery featuring a dynamic duo.

Read Full Review of A Study in Charlotte (Charlot... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Apr 03 2016

...Cavallaro uses the assault as a way to throw suspicion on Holmes as the possible murderer, sidestepping the seriousness of that crime in its own right. This aside, readers will find this to be an involving murder mystery...

Read Full Review of A Study in Charlotte (Charlot... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for A Study in Charlotte
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×