A Thousand Pearls by Hervé Le Tellier
(for a Thousand Pennies) (French Literature Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

Synopsis

In the tradition of Joe Brainard's I Remember and Georges Perec's Je me souviens, this delightful "novel" offers a thousand answers to the question, "What are you thinking?" (Or, as translator Ian Monk puts it: "Penny for them?") The answers are spontaneous, revealing, ominous, insignificant, grotesque, amusing, lecherous, tragic and trivial by turns, and lovable in their cheerful imperfection. This is a book about the basics: love, sexuality, death, and all the other things that lurk in our everyday thoughts.

 

About Hervé Le Tellier

See more books from this Author
Hervé Le Tellier is a writer, journalist, mathematician, food critic, and teacher. He has been a member of the Oulipo group since 1992 and one of the "papous" of the famous France Culture radio show. He has published fifteen books of stories, essays, and novels, including Enough About Love (Other Press, 2011), The Sextine Chapel (Dalkey Archive Press, 2011), and A Thousand Pearls (Dalkey Archive Press, 2011).Adriana Hunter studied French and Drama at the University of London. She has translated more than fifty books including Enough About Love by Hervé Le Tellier (Other Press), and her work has been short-listed for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize twice. She lives in Norfolk, England.
 
Published July 19, 2011 by Dalkey Archive Press. 200 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review
×