AS NIGHT FALLS by S. K. McClafferty
(Catskills suspense series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Thomas Wolfe was full of it. You could go home again.

When her life implodes, Professor Abigail Youngblood turns her back on the rubble, death, and destruction, returning to the one place where peace and serenity still abide. Home… to Abundance, New York, a quaint village tucked away in the picturesque Hudson Valley.

Yet, sleepy Abundance is not as Abby remembers it, and neither is her Aunt Catherine’s estate, now crumbling from years of neglect. The old foundation is falling apart, the wiring is unsafe, and a team of archeological students from NYU have dug up skeletal remains on the grounds of the Youngblood estate. Perhaps even more disturbing for Abby is Aunt Catherine’s new tenant, insanely sexy, burned-out horror novelist Matthew Wilde Monroe.

That middle name of his says it all, and Abby is in no position to allow the Southern bad-boy within pouncing distance. Matt’s got all the right stuff, however, and he’s an old hand at the art of seduction… so how’s even an anal-retentive over-achiever like Abby supposed to resist? When Matt cons her into a thrill ride in his pickup truck, Abby nearly succumbs to his irresistible charm, and only her discovery of Shelley La Blanc’s partially nude body close to their picnic spot puts a damper on their romantic interlude.

Before long, Matt becomes a person of interest in the investigation. Then another victim is found, buried deep in Vanderbloon's Woods, and just like Shelley, she had a connection to Matt. As the investigation intensifies, so does Abby’s carnal attraction for the sexy Southerner. He’s dark, and dangerous, and stubbornly secretive about his past… but is he a murderer? Drawn into the mystery swirling around him, Abby is unaware that someone is watching her… wanting her… waiting to relive his twisted fantasy of torture and death… with Abby as his next victim.
AS NIGHT FALLS is the first book in the Hudson Valley Romantic Suspense Series.

About S. K. McClafferty

See more books from this Author
S. K. McClafferty lives in Pennsylvania, near Pittsburgh.
Published January 16, 2014 333 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Erotica, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review