Abigail and John by Edith Gelles
Portrait of a Marriage

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



“Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.”
Washington Times

“A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.”
Oklahoma City Oklahoman

Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’s Founding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.


About Edith Gelles

See more books from this Author
Edith B. Gelles, Ph.D., holds degrees from Cornell, Yale, and the University of California-Irvine. She has taught at several universities and is a Senior Scholar at Stanford's Michelle R. Clayman Institute for Gender Research. She lives in Palo Alto, California.
Published April 2, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 352 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Health, Fitness & Dieting, History, Parenting & Relationships, Self Help. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Abigail and John

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Certain passages from this epistolary treasure have become famous: Abigail’s eyewitness description of the Battle of Bunker Hill, her disquisition against slavery, her proto-feminist plea to her husband, occupied with theories of government at the Continental Congress, to “Remember the Ladies.” G...

| Read Full Review of Abigail and John: Portrait of...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

“As I see it,” Ellis explains, “Abigail and John have much to teach us about both the reasons for that improbable success called the American Revolution and the equally startling capacity for a man and woman — husband and wife — to sustain their love over a lifetime filled with daunting challenge...

Nov 05 2010 | Read Full Review of Abigail and John: Portrait of...

Bookmarks Magazine

As much a romance as it is a lively chapter in early American history, Abigail and John is an inspirational portrait of a couple who endured the turmoil and trials of a revolution, and in so doing paved the way for the birth of a nation.

May 24 2009 | Read Full Review of Abigail and John: Portrait of...

Project MUSE

Edith Gelles's newly published biography and critique—Abigail Adams: A Writing Life—offers an excellent entry point for anyone who is interested in Abigail Adams as a writer.

| Read Full Review of Abigail and John: Portrait of...

Reader Rating for Abigail and John

An aggregated and normalized score based on 47 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review