Abuse of Power by Michael Savage

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

...too much backstory, and the too-familiar sex scenes are overly repetitive. Hardly recommendable on literary terms...
-Booklist Online

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author and nationally syndicated radio talk-show host Michael Savage comes a high-intensity debut thriller, the story of a smeared network journalist who uncovers a chilling terrorist plot.

Jack Hatfield is a hardened former war correspondent who rose to national prominence for his insightful, provocative commentary. But after being smeared as a bigot and extremist by a radical leftist media-watchdog group, he ultimately loses his job and finds himself working in obscurity as a freelance news producer in San Francisco.
One afternoon Hatfield is on a ride-along with the SFPD bomb squad when a seemingly routine carjacking turns deadly, after police find several pounds of military-grade explosives in the jacked car. And when the FBI urges Hatfield to stay out of it, he knows he's onto something big.
This event will open up a shadowy trail that leads Hatfield from San Francisco to Tel Aviv, London, Paris, and back again, as he works with a stunning Yemeni intelligence agent and a veteran Green Beret to expose a terrorist group known as the Hand of Allah—and a plot within the highest corridors of power that will dwarf 9/11.
Abuse of Power is a lightning-paced thriller, spanning the globe from Europe and Israel to the back alleys of San Francisco's Chinatown. Jack Hatfield must make the choice between protecting his own life and investigating a terrorist cell whose goal is nothing less than total political control—no matter what the cost.

 

About Michael Savage

See more books from this Author
Michael Savage is a multimedia icon in the conservative movement. He has been ranked as one of the most influential conservatives in the United States, and with ten million weekly listeners, he is the third most listened-to conservative talk-show host. Dr. Savage is author of twenty-five books, including four New York Times bestsellers. He is an ardent conservationist, is dedicated to his family, and is a proud patriot of his country.
 
Published September 13, 2011 by St. Martin's Press. 368 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon18
Peak Rank on Oct 02 2011
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Abuse of Power
All: 4 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Above average
on Sep 01 2011

Ten years after 9/11, the tropes of terrorism thrillers wear thin. For fans of Fox News, Savage’s right-wing POV (but little else) may lend some distinction.

Read Full Review of Abuse of Power | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Jul 18 2011

Savage pulls off some neat twists as Hatfield and a handful of amateurs fight to prevent a disaster that certain officials choose to ignore or abet.

Read Full Review of Abuse of Power | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Booklist Online

Below average
on Sep 14 2011

...too much backstory, and the too-familiar sex scenes are overly repetitive. Hardly recommendable on literary terms...

Read Full Review of Abuse of Power

Media Matters

Below average
Reviewed by BEN DIMIERO on Sep 08 2011

...his debut novel, Abuse of Power, will likely read like an ordinary cheap supermarket thriller, with gaping plot holes, serial clichés, and leaps of logic.

Read Full Review of Abuse of Power

Reader Rating for Abuse of Power
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 587 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×