Afraid of the Dark by James Grippando
(Jack Swyteck)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.” —Booklist (starred review)

A young girl’s murder sets off a grisly cascade of crime, death, and intrigue—and sends criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck after a sinister group of terrorists on the verge of unleashing chaos across the globe. From New York Times bestseller James Grippando, the ninth Jack Swyteck novel, Afraid of the Dark—perfect for fans of Steve Martini, Phillip Margolin, and Jo Nesbo—is a rollercoaster thrill ride into the very heart of evil.

 

About James Grippando

See more books from this Author
JAMES GRIPPANDO is the bestselling author of Intent to Kill, Born to Run, Last Call, Lying with Strangers, When Darkness Falls, Got the Look, Hear No Evil, Last to Die, Beyond Suspicion, A King's Ransom, Under Cover of Darkness, Found Money, The Abduction, The Informant, and The Pardon. He lives in Florida, where he was a trial lawyer for 12 years.
 
Published March 22, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 593 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Afraid of the Dark

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Series hero Jack finds himself at Gitmo, defending Prisoner Number 977, who turns out to be the very same Jamal, who, interestingly enough, turns out to have a seemingly rock-solid alibi covering the time he was supposed to be murdering McKenna and blinding Vince: incarceration by federal authori...

Mar 22 2011 | Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Withdrawing as counsel on the case for Jamal Wakefield seems to be the only avenue Jack Swyteck feels comfortable with.

Feb 28 2011 | Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

Why he did all this on the basis of a telephone conversation with his mom, rather than go immediately to the U.S. embassy in Prague, surrender himself and tell the truth remains a mystery.Swytech, naturally enough, is friends with both Chuck Mays and Vince Paulo, and so of course he agonizes over...

Apr 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

Book Reporter

Murder and mayhem, espionage, pornography for sale, kidnapping, government-contracted torture, and the powers of a super computer form the meat of this latest Jack Swyteck thriller.

Apr 04 2011 | Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

Reviewing the Evidence

The author brilliantly intertwines these stories, but the novel is dark, and readers will soon find themselves questioning the type of future that lays ahead (particularly when it comes to technology).

| Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

BookIdeas.com

Privacy Policy: This site is read-only at the user level, and thus collects no information on it's users.

| Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

True Crime Book Reviews

In the newest Jack Swyteck book from author James Grippando, Jack represents yet another questionable client.

Mar 25 2011 | Read Full Review of Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyt...

Reader Rating for Afraid of the Dark
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 121 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×