All Saints' Day by Brent Benoit

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



All Saints' Day is a bold and provocative southern novel in the tradition of Walker Percy and John Kennedy Toole. Brent Benoit's debut movingly chronicles two generations of the Bueche family of Maringouin, Louisiana, a family of Cajun ancestry that has been defined by a tragedy-the accidental death of their gifted, infant child at the hands of his feeble twin brother. The lives of both parents, Ulysse (a.k.a. Russell) and Doreen, are driven toward this event, and in putting it behind them the child's brothers, Whitaker and Clayton, reach toward resolution while teetering on the verge of catastrophe.

In All Saints' Day the lives of simple people attain the status of myth. It is a novel that both captivates the reader in its rendering of a vanishing culture and surprises at every turn. Tautly written, harrowing and heart-filled, All Saints' Day marks Brent Benoit's emergence as a writer to watch.

About Brent Benoit

See more books from this Author
Brent Benoit was born in 1974 and raised in South Louisiana. He works as both a writing teacher at Louisiana State University and a homebuilder in Baton Rouge. He is a graduate of Loyola University in New Orleans and holds an M.F.A. in creative writing from LSU.
Published October 23, 2002 by Overlook Hardcover. 345 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for All Saints' Day

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Moving and fine, despite an unnecessarily complex narrative and the occasional patch of purple prose.

Nov 20 2002 | Read Full Review of All Saints' Day

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In episodes ranging in time from 1961, when young Russell is taken to the racetrack by his father and witnesses the gruesome death of a horse that Adam has inexpertly drugged, through the childhood and young adulthood of Russell's sons, Whitaker and Clayton, into the 1990s, Benoit enters the psyc...

| Read Full Review of All Saints' Day

Rate this book!

Add Review