All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

80%

24 Critic Reviews

...I was not enthralled by the “rumpled outcast teenage boy saves the broken teenage girl” motif...Still, it seems inevitable that “All the Bright Places” will be compared to Rainbow Rowell’s “Eleanor & Park” and...deservedly so, at least in the case of its central characters.
-NY Times

Synopsis

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

New York Times bestseller

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

“At the heart—a big one—of “All the Bright Places” lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” 
 — New York Times Book Review 

“…this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters—or her audience.”
— Entertainment Weekly 


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Jennifer Niven

See more books from this Author
JENNIFER NIVEN is an author and screenwriter. She lives in Los Angeles.
 
Published January 6, 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. 402 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, Self Help. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for All the Bright Places
All: 24 | Positive: 21 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Excellent
on Oct 01 2014

When the story inevitably turns tragic, a cast of carefully drawn side characters brings to life both the pain of loss and the possibility of moving forward, though some notes of hope are more believable than others. Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Oct 31 2014

The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities—and limits—of love in the face of mental illness.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Oct 31 2014

In her YA debut, adult author Niven...creates a romance so fresh and funny that it seems like it could save Finch...The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities—and limits—of love in the face of mental illness.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by Andrew Smith on Jan 16 2015

...I was not enthralled by the “rumpled outcast teenage boy saves the broken teenage girl” motif...Still, it seems inevitable that “All the Bright Places” will be compared to Rainbow Rowell’s “Eleanor & Park” and...deservedly so, at least in the case of its central characters.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from NY Times

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by tashtastic on Mar 06 2016

I truly fell in love with the plot and characters and the story is beautifully written. It is definitely in my top three books; and is possibly even my number one, which is an incredibly bold statement!

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Laura,thespecialone on Feb 04 2016

In the end, although its plot seems very stereotypical, it is also very original in its own right and so if you enjoy books similar to this, I would thoroughly recommend it.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Hanz2000 on Jan 23 2016

It is a book that you can link back to your own life and it reminds you how fragile everything is and how important it is to treasure every moment with a loved one before it can be snatched away.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Below average
Reviewed by ReluctantWriter on Dec 14 2015

It’s a try-hard fit into the teen romance mould and it stops feeling real; the big heart we were handed at the beginning suddenly collapses.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Hannah Mulcahy on Nov 19 2015

It is a book that you can link back to your own life and it reminds you how fragile everything is and how important it is to treasure every moment with a loved one before it can be snatched away.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by LostInWonderland on Sep 08 2015

The book explores heavy adult themes. I thought the author dealt with these adult themes profoundly and made them understandable for a Young Adult audience.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Leonora Marlake on Sep 06 2015

Although I picked this book up on a whim (just like how Finch and Violet met), the profound message of seizing a moment and making the most of this world and the people in it is communicated to me and the characters in this novel.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Looking for Lauren on Sep 04 2015

All the Bright Places quickly became one of my favourite novels due to its heart-warming friendships and relationships, as well as the story that it told.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by bookworm.30999 on Aug 04 2015

After you finish this book you are going to advertise it to all your friends because that is what I did. This book is everywhere and if you haven’t read it, what are you even doing?!

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by bibliophile1 on Jun 08 2015

I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys young adult fiction as I feel that this book is of a higher calibre than most YA fiction.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by ellathebookworm on Mar 14 2015

Overall, All the Bright Places was a memorable and beautiful read, one which captured me completely and really opened my eyes to the hardships which others suffer. Please, go and read it.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Below average
Reviewed by Tony Bradman on Mar 14 2015

It sounds like a guarantee of emotional intensity and narrative tension. It has plenty of the first, but not enough of the second.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Avatar 46 on Mar 12 2015

Just read the book and you won't be sorry you did. Overall I enjoyed this book very much. It's another one of the sad books that will have me mourning and complaining for days and it really is worth reading.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Abundantly_dramaticT on Feb 26 2015

...don't let that scare you away. Please do yourself a favour and open the first page of All the Bright Places and you won't regret it because Finch might just bring YOU spring.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by muchbooks on Feb 04 2015

This book is simply astonishing. It's a book of wanderings and exploration. A book of love and grief and it's a book about teenagers. It made me laugh, cry and feel almost every emotion possible...I would recommend All the Bright Places to anyone and everyone.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by Thedauntlessbookthief on Jan 30 2015

This book is incredible. It will both warm your heart and break it at the the same time. I cried at this book...It is one of the most beautifully written books I have read in ages, not to mention the incredible story and characters. It is powerful and moving and spine-tinglingly wonderful.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by jboo1698 on Jan 28 2015

So, I think this should be on your to read list. This book has a way of tugging at your heartstrings in a way that no other book could for me.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by some-infinities-katie on Jan 22 2015

The two main characters are incredibly detailed and the plot is unique and quirky. Pick it up as soon as you can!

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Below average
Reviewed by justonemorepage on Dec 29 2014

All the Bright Things had lot of potential...The plot may be a little clichéd and pretentious in places, but so was that of The Fault in Our Stars. It dealt with some important themes. Ultimately, though, the characters just did not work for me.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Guardian

Blog Critics

Good
Reviewed by Sahar on Oct 13 2014

A page turner that will capture you the moment you meet Finch...Touching, beautiful, heartbreaking, and haunting, Finch and Violet will follow you around long after you have turned the last page of the book that brings them beautifully to life.

Read Full Review of All the Bright Places | See more reviews from Blog Critics

Reader Rating for All the Bright Places
94%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1006 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Cecilia Thomas

Cecilia Thomas 10 Jan 2016

Added the book to want to read list

×