Along Came a Duke by Elizabeth Boyle

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

Boyle’s dialogue is witty and hilarious. This is a book that you can devour in a day.
-Examiner

Synopsis

“Wit, passion, and adventure, Elizabeth Boyle has it all!”
—Julia Quinn

New York Times bestselling RITA® Award winner Elizabeth Boyle is a wonder, and with Along Came a Duke—the first book in her delectable Rhymes with Love series based on well-known nursery rhymes—she proves once more that no one writes wittier, more endearing and original historical romance. Returning once more to England during the colorful Regency Era, Boyle transports readers to the small town of Kempton, where a local curse prevents the female residents from wedding—a fact that cannot deter a plucky young heiress who needs to marry to inherit her fortune, as she strikes out for London to wed a rakish and unsuspecting duke. Funny, touching, and wonderfully sensuous, Along Came a Duke is a prime example of the exceptional romantic magic that puts Elizabeth Boyle in the same master class as Lisa Kleypas and Christina Dodd.

 

About Elizabeth Boyle

See more books from this Author
ELIZABETH BOYLE has always loved romance and now lives it each and every day by writing adventurous and passionate stories that readers from all around the world have described as "page-turners." Since her first publication in 1996, she's seen her books become New York Times and USA Today bestsellers and has won the RWA RITA® Award and a Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award. She resides in Seattle with her husband and two small sons, or "heroes in training," as she likes to call them.
 
Published May 29, 2012 by Avon. 388 pages
Genres: Romance, History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Along Came a Duke
All: 7 | Positive: 7 | Negative: 0

Examiner

Excellent
Reviewed by Elizabeth Provenzano on Aug 14 2012

Boyle’s dialogue is witty and hilarious. This is a book that you can devour in a day.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

Fresh Fiction

Good
Reviewed by Auriette Lindsey on Aug 03 2012

The scenes between Tabitha and Preston are electric. Elizabeth Boyle writes terrific dialogue, both spoken and inner, that really spark.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

La Deetda Reads

Good
Reviewed by Dot Salvagin on May 14 2012

This is a fun, light, predictable, but most enjoyable read.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

The Reading Reviewer

Good
Reviewed by Mary Gramlich on Aug 03 2012

The magic of the kiss, the romance of the moment, and the twist of every turn is what Elizabeth Boyle excels at with each book she writes.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

Bookworm 1858

Good
Reviewed by Bookworm1858 on Jun 08 2012

Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn and lighter romance-this is a humorous sweet story with two people eager for a deep connection and who have to battle base knavery to achieve their happily ever after.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

Mixed Book bag

Good
Reviewed by Mixed Book Bag on May 24 2012

Along Came a Duke is a good start to a new trilogy and I look forward to the next two books.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

Love Romances & More

Good
Reviewed by Lil on Sep 04 2012

I find it a refreshing entertainment, full of humor, spicy romance, and adventure and definitely look forward to reading more of her work.

Read Full Review of Along Came a Duke

Reader Rating for Along Came a Duke
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 258 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×