Always October by Bruce Coville

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



From Bruce Coville, the master of tween comic suspense, comes a tale of monsters, the bond between brothers, and saving the world.

Jake's baby brother, LD, may be a monster (complete with fangs and fur!), but together with his best friend, Lily, Jake isn't going to let anything happen to that baby. Even if it turns out LD may be the key to saving the world—or destroying it. Soon Jake and Lily are on a perilous quest through Always October, a land populated with monsters.

Perfect for fans of Bruce Coville's beloved books, such as Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher, the Unicorn Chronicles series, and My Teacher Is an Alien series.


About Bruce Coville

See more books from this Author
Bruce Coville is the author of nearly ninety books for young readers, including the international best-seller My Teacher Is an Alien. He has been a teacher, a toy maker, a cookware salesman, and a grave digger. In addition to his work as an author, Bruce is much in demand as a speaker and as a storyteller. He is also the founder and president of Full Cast Audio, a company dedicated to producing unabridged recordings of children's books in a full-cast format. For more information about Bruce, check out
Published August 28, 2012 by HarperCollins. 389 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Always October

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

From the very first line (“We've only got two weeks before Jake has to turn into a monster for the first time”) to the riveting ending, this fantasy will have readers turning pages recklessly.

Jun 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Always October

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Sixth-grade best friends Jake and Lily (no relation to the headliners of Jerry Spinelli's recent Jake and Lily) narrate alternate chapters of this monster-filled adventure, chronicling their odyssey into a land they had mistakenly believed was a fictional creation of Jake's fantasy-writing grandf...

Aug 20 2012 | Read Full Review of Always October

City Book Review

This story is told by Jacob and Lily, two kids who are in the sixth grade, like to read scary stories, and live near the cemetery—and they’re going to have the scariest adventure of their lives!

Oct 09 2012 | Read Full Review of Always October

Common Sense Media

But Jacob and Lily do have caring adults in their world(s): Lily's grandfather gave her a home when she was orphaned and being moved from one foster home to another (before the action in the book begins);

Aug 28 2012 | Read Full Review of Always October

Portland Book Review

Lily has a unique family, and LD certainly adds some quirkiness to Jake’s atypical family.

Oct 25 2012 | Read Full Review of Always October

Gr 3–7—Two years ago, after his father went missing, Jake found a friend in his across-the-cemetery neighbor, Lily, who, it turned out, is no stranger to missing parents herself. Lily is a huge help when Jake is called on to help save a baby called Little Dumpling who's been left on Jake's doorst...

Feb 01 2014 | Read Full Review of Always October

Reader Rating for Always October

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review