An Absent Mind by Eric Rill

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

“This uncommonly brave book is based on Rill’s father’s eight-year struggle with Alzheimer’s disease. Using five narrators in short, alternating chapters, the novel tells the story of Saul Reimer’s decent into Alzheimer’s…Rill’s grief-stricken love for his father, who died in 1998, invests every page with true feeling.”
-BlueInk Review

Synopsis

Seventy-one, and a man used to controlling those around him, Saul struggles to make peace with his disconnected family before Alzheimer’s consumes his sanity.

His ramblings, humor, emotions, lucid moments, and confusion are laid bare, as well as the thoughts and feelings of his loved ones: his wife, Monique, conflicted and depressed…caring, yet angry; his daughter, Florence, compassionate, yet proper and reserved; his son, Joey, self-centered and narcissistic, seemingly indifferent to his family’s challenges; and his doctor, an Alzheimer’s specialist, who cares for Saul until his final days.

From the beginning Saul and his family know how it has to end, because no one has ever outsmarted Alzheimer’s. But as they navigate the meandering road that will eventually bring Saul’s demise, they leave behind their once disconnected lives and come together to weather their difficult journey.

Heartfelt and moving, this lauded novel, winner of 2014 gold medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, Readers’ Favorite Book Awards, and the Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Fiction, will appeal to fans of Lisa Genova’s Still Alice or Nicholas Sparks’s The Notebook.

Revised edition: This edition of An Absent Mind includes editorial revisions.

Best Book Of 2014 – Alzheimer’s Weekly

 

About Eric Rill

See more books from this Author
Eric Rill was born in Montreal and graduated from Cornell University with a bachelor of arts and from UCLA with an MBA. Having held several executive positions in the hospitality industry, including president of a global hotel group, he finally figured out that he was more the creative type than the corporate type. He packed up and headed to the Caribbean where he wrote his thrillers, Pinnacle of Deceit and The Innocent Traitor, and now his latest novel, An Absent Mind. Eric has two sons and divides his time between his residence in Panama and international travel. You can reach him at his website at www.ericrill.com.
 
Published January 13, 2015 by Lake Union Publishing. 278 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Professional & Technical, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for An Absent Mind
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

BlueInk Review

Excellent
on Apr 28 2014

“This uncommonly brave book is based on Rill’s father’s eight-year struggle with Alzheimer’s disease. Using five narrators in short, alternating chapters, the novel tells the story of Saul Reimer’s decent into Alzheimer’s…Rill’s grief-stricken love for his father, who died in 1998, invests every page with true feeling.”

Read Full Review of An Absent Mind

Reader Rating for An Absent Mind
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 167 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review