An Ideal Duchess by Evangeline Holland
(Beauty for Ashes)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

It’s well-written...the period is an underused one in the genre and I felt your depiction of it was one of the book’s strengths, and some of the characters were very interesting – though not necessarily the ones that were the main focus of the narrative.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

In the tradition of Edith Wharton and Henry James--part one of a romantic historical fiction saga featuring an indomitable American heiress torn between her quest for romance and her equal desire for independence, and the autocratic English duke she loves, who harbors a dark secret. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Upstairs Downstairs!

The Buccaneers--fresh, untutored, and easy-going--conquered 1870s English society, but in Edwardian England, American heiresses were supposed to be cool and level-headed about their pursuit of titles. Amanda Vandewater embodied this new wave of American invaders when she meets and marries the 9th Duke of Malvern, though she soon discovers she desires more than a coronet and strawberry leaves: she desires his heart. But the duke's heart isn't his to give, trapped as he is by old promises and a haunting past that binds him to the very traditions that stole his independence.

Set against the backdrop of the rise of aviation, the suffragette movement, and the turbulent years leading up to WWI, An Ideal Duchess is the tale of an idealistic American heiress who must fight for her position--and for love--in the face of the strict adherence to duty over desire, of reputation over understanding, and of clinging to the past over embracing the present.
 

About Evangeline Holland

See more books from this Author
Evangeline Holland is the author of Pocket Guide to Edwardian England and Lady Myddelton’s Lover. She lives in California with her family, a territorial cat, and rooms full of books. An Ideal Duchess is her first novel, and part one of a saga following an American heiress. Visit her online at www.evangelineholland.com or www.edwardianpromenade.com.
 
Published June 10, 2013 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 444 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for An Ideal Duchess
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Dear Author

Above average
Reviewed by Rose on Mar 27 2014

It’s well-written...the period is an underused one in the genre and I felt your depiction of it was one of the book’s strengths, and some of the characters were very interesting – though not necessarily the ones that were the main focus of the narrative.

Read Full Review of An Ideal Duchess (Beauty for ... | See more reviews from Dear Author

Reader Rating for An Ideal Duchess
62%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review