An Uncommon Education by Elizabeth Percer

73%

14 Critic Reviews

A subdued, thoughtful coming-of-age tale that hovers observantly on the edge of melancholia.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For fans of Prep, Dead Poets Society, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics comes an elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut, in which a young woman’s serendipitous discovery of her college’s underground Shakespeare Society leads to an unforgettable series of transformations. When Naomi finds herself among “the Shakes” at Wellesley, she finally lets herself embrace the passionate inner self she’s always kept locked away. But when a sudden scandal unfolds, she will be forced to learn the limits of the relationships that have sustained her. An intimate and enthralling narrative, Elizabeth Percer’s debut novel An Uncommon Education marks the emergence of a stunning new literary talent.
 

About Elizabeth Percer

See more books from this Author
Elizabeth Percer is a three-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize and has twice been honored by the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Foundation. She received a B.A. in English from Wellesley and a Ph.D. in arts education from Stanford University, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship for the National Writing Project at UC Berkeley. She lives in California with her family. An Uncommon Education is her first novel. Visit her website at Visit her website at www.elizabethpercer.com
 
Published May 1, 2012 by Harper. 357 pages
Genres: Other, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for An Uncommon Education
All: 14 | Positive: 11 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Excellent
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on May 01 2012

A subdued, thoughtful coming-of-age tale that hovers observantly on the edge of melancholia.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education | See more reviews from Kirkus

NY Times

Below average
Reviewed by TOM LeCLAIR on Jul 20 2012

Herself a Wellesley graduate, Percer has problems fitting her obvious affection for the college into a plot as believable as her narrator’s powers of recall.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education | See more reviews from NY Times

Watermark Books And Cafe

Excellent
Reviewed by Beth Golay

....comes through with the promised knowledge, secret societies, and all that.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Bookshelf Bombshells

Excellent
Reviewed by Sarah Bisman on Jul 30 2012

Read it for the coming-of-age story you’ll undoubtedly recognize, whether you attended college or not. Stay for the gorgeous prose.....

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Book Fetish

Excellent
Reviewed by Renee Fountain on Jul 03 2012

Elizabeth Percer expertly relates the life story of Naomi Feinstein with beautifully scripted, lush prose that draws the reader in...

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Devourer of Books

Below average
Reviewed by Jen on May 02 2012

.... but I think that An Uncommon Education could have used some stronger editing and direction.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Book Journey

Good
Reviewed by Sheila on May 18 2012

Bringing Naomi to the school, the book picked up more of a heartbeat pace. It had rhythm… it had life.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Of Books and Reading

Good
Reviewed by thehungryreader on May 31 2012

This book is one of a kind. I highly recommend this novel.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Stiletto Storytime

Good
Reviewed by Courtney on May 08 2012

It’s a tale of discovery and beauty as the details of the novel fall into place making the reader appreciate the flow of the story...

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

BookNAround

Below average
Reviewed by Kristen on Jun 04 2012

Although well-written, the novel felt drawn out to me. Naomi came across as an old soul in the sense that she seemed weary and unlikely to be happy in life.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Songs of Sirens

Good
Reviewed by Kacy on Jul 10 2012

The novel is compelling in large part of our connection to Naomi. It is almost impossible not to be moved by her character ...

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

A Literary Odyssey

Good
Reviewed by Allie on May 07 2012

Watching Naomi struggle with her identity and her chosen path just showed me that even though you may want something, even though you may think something is what you want to become, it may not be what you need.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Unabridged Chick

Good
Reviewed by Audra on May 10 2012

If you want an armchair escape to a women's college that is as bucolic as you would imagine, this is your novel.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

The House of the Seven Tails

Good
Reviewed by Amy on May 07 2012

It’s a well-written, realistic story about one young woman’s journey to adulthood.

Read Full Review of An Uncommon Education

Reader Rating for An Uncommon Education
66%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 92 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×