Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories by Algernon Blackwood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


"Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories" is a collection of supernatural stories by one of the greatest writers of such stories to have ever lived, Algernon Blackwood. This collection contains the title story, "Ancient Sorceries", which is the tale of a tourist who becomes enchanted by a strange French town and the ancient secrets that are hidden there. Also included in this collection is one of Blackwood's most celebrated stories, "The Willows", the story of two campers who pick the wrong place to sleep for the night, as well as the following seven tales: "Smith: An Episode in a Lodging-House", "The Insanity of Jones", "The Man Who Found Out", "The Wendigo", "The Glamour of the Snow", "The Man Whom the Trees Loved, and Sand".

About Algernon Blackwood

See more books from this Author
Algernon Blackwood (1869-1951) trained as a doctor and took up a special interest in Eastern medicine and religion. He published several short story collections before becoming an undercover agent for Britain during World War I. After the war he became known for his regular appearances reading ghost stories on BBC radio and television.
Published June 24, 2010 by 230 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Horror. Fiction

Reader Rating for Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review