Anne of Avonlea by L. M. Montgomery & Jane Leslie Conly
(Anne of Green Gables, Book 2)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



The inimitable Anne Shirley makes her mark on Avonlea in this artfully packaged edition of the sequel to Anne of Green Gables.

Five years after Anne Shirley came to the town of Avonlea, she feels (a little) more grown up, but she’s still the same skinny, red-headed orphan Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert took in. After putting her dream of attending Redmond College on hold so she can help Marilla with the farm, Anne doubts she has many adventures ahead of her. But even in plain old Avonlea, her life proves to be anything but ordinary.

This sequel to Anne of Green Gables follows Anne’s endeavors to become a successful teacher, help raise a pair of rambunctious twins, and improve her beloved hometown—with the help of her former enemy, Gilbert Blythe, who’s giving her an awful lot of attention…

This addition to the renowned Anne of Green Gables series makes a wonderful gift and keepsake.

About L. M. Montgomery & Jane Leslie Conly

See more books from this Author
Sy Montgomery is a naturalist, author, documentary scriptwriter, and radio commentator who writes for children as well as adults. Among her award-winning books are "The Good Good Pig, Journey of the Pink Dolphins", "Spell of the Tiger", and "Search for the Golden Moon Bear". She has made four trips to Peru and Brazil to study the pink dolphins of the Amazon; and on other expeditions, she was chased by an angry silverback gorilla in Zaire; bitten by a vampire bat in Costa Rica; undressed by an orangutan in Borneo; and hunted by a tiger in India. She also worked in a pit crawling with eighteen thousand snakes in Manitoba; handled a wild tarantula in French Guiana; and swum with piranhas, electric eels, and dolphins in the Amazon. Research for this book included travel to China and Mongolia to see the latest discoveries of giant bird fossils, and to Australia to see the most dangerous birds in the world. She lives in New Hampshire. Katherine Paterson is the author of more than 30 books, including 16 novels for children and young adults such as "Bridge to Terabithia", "Jacob Have I Loved", "The Master Puppeteer", and "The Great Gilly Hopkins". She has twice won the National Book Award and twice the Newbury Medal. In 2000, she was named a Living Legend by the Library of Congress. She is currently a vice-president of the National Children's Book and Literacy Alliance.
Published September 15, 1995 by Tor Classics. 338 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Action & Adventure, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Professional & Technical, Romance, History. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Anne of Avonlea

Suite 101

Pannecoucke) Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne of Avonlea, the second book in the Anne of Green Gables series of young adult novels, picks up the story of Anne where the first book left off in a perfectly captivating way.

Dec 04 2008 | Read Full Review of Anne of Avonlea (Anne of Gree...

Reader Rating for Anne of Avonlea

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1366 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review