Another Place at the Table by Kathy Harrison
A Story of Shattered Childhoods Redeemed by Love

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For more than a decade, Kathy Harrison has sheltered a shifting cast of troubled youngsters-the offspring of prostitutes and addicts; the sons and daughters of abusers; and teenage parents who can't handle parenthood. What would motivate someone to give herself over to constant, largely uncompensated chaos? How does she manage her extraordinary blended family? Why would anyone voluntarily take on her job?

Harrison is no saint, but an ordinary woman doing heroic work. In Another Place at the Table, she describes her life at our social services' front lines-centered around three children who, when they come together in her home, nearly destroy it. Danny, age eight, is borderline mentally retarded and a budding pedophile (a frequent result of sexual abuse in boys). No other family will take him in. Tough, magnetic Sara, age six, is dangerously promiscuous (a typical manifestation of abuse in girls). Karen, six months, shares Danny's legal advocate, who must represent the interests of both. All three living under the same roof will lead to an inevitable explosion-but for each, Harrison's care offers the greatest hope of a reinvented childhood.

For readers of The Lost Children of Wilder, Expecting Adam, and Somebody Else's Kids, this is the first-person story of a woman whose compassionate best intentions for a child are sometimes all that stand between violence and redemption.
 

About Kathy Harrison

See more books from this Author
Kathy Harrison has been a foster parent to nearly one hundred children. In 1996, she and her husband were named Massachusetts Foster Parents of the Year, and in 2002, they received the prestigious Goldie Foster Award.
 
Published May 24, 2004 by Tarcher. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Religion & Spirituality, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Another Place at the Table

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A sweet girl named Lucy who enjoyed birding went on to be adopted by a loving family after a stint with the Harrisons, who themselves adopted a third daughter, Karen, despite her host of medical problems.

| Read Full Review of Another Place at the Table: A...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

With over half a million American children in foster care today, Harrison's personal but vitally important account should be read by public policy makers and by anyone with a spare room in their home.

| Read Full Review of Another Place at the Table: A...

Examiner

Another Place at the Table by Kathy Harrison is now almost considered a classic in the world of adoption and foster care books, and for good reason.

Nov 09 2010 | Read Full Review of Another Place at the Table: A...

Reader Rating for Another Place at the Table
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 63 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review