Arclight by Josin L. McQuein

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

...McQuein strongly evokes the claustrophobic tyranny of adult authority and institutional spaces, as well as the irrational human faith in the voice of “experience,” in this fine debut.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A harrowing sci-fi thriller that #1 New York Times bestselling author Pittacus Lore proclaimed "Powerful and gripping." This bold and astonishing novel about identity, unnerving connections, tortured romance, and facing our worst nightmares is made for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin.

The Arclight is the last refuge in a post-apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying creatures called the Fade. No one crosses the wall of light that keeps the last human survivors safe. There's nothing else left and nowhere to go. Or so they thought, until Marina, a lone teenage girl, stumbles out of the Dark.

Marina doesn't remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. And the Fade want her back. When one of them infiltrates the compound and recognizes Marina, she begins to unlock secrets she didn't even know she had. Marina knows she's an outsider, but she'll do anything to protect those who saved her. Whether they want her help or not.

 

About Josin L. McQuein

See more books from this Author
Josin L. McQuein lives near Dallas, Texas. This is her first novel. You can visit her on her blog at http://josinlmcquein.blogspot.com/ or on Twitter at JosinMcQuein.
 
Published April 23, 2013 by Greenwillow Books. 421 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Arclight
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Apr 15 2013

...McQuein strongly evokes the claustrophobic tyranny of adult authority and institutional spaces, as well as the irrational human faith in the voice of “experience,” in this fine debut.

Read Full Review of Arclight | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Dear Author

Below average
Reviewed by Jia on Apr 24 2013

I formed no emotional connections with any of the characters, not even the protagonist Marina. A few of them, like Anne-Marie, seemed very cardboard and two-dimensional.

Read Full Review of Arclight | See more reviews from Dear Author

Kirkus

Good
on Feb 13 2013

...Marina especially stands out as an interesting and spunky character, enough of a rebel to take some major chances. A tension-filled read for those who wait.

Read Full Review of Arclight | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Arclight
67%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 136 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×