As of This Writing by Clive James
The Essential Essays, 1968-2002

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"Clive James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Edmund Wilson, with a gusto to succeed theirs."—John Bayley

It is impossible not to be awed by the remarkable range and massive erudition of Clive James, one of the greatest literary critics of our age. In the tradition of Edmund Wilson, James is a brilliant stylist so perceptive (and funny) that he renders the twisted literary terrain of the twentieth century remarkably accessible. In As of This Writing James has assembled his most ambitious and expansive collection to date, a book that features forty-nine essays on poetry, film, culture, and fiction written between 1967 and 2001. Whether commenting on poets like Auden or Jarrell, novelists like D. H. Lawrence and James Agee (not to mention Judith Krantz), or filmmakers like Fellini or Bogdanovich, James delights his readers with his manic energy and critical aplomb. This volume is a literary education that few recent books can rival.
 

About Clive James

See more books from this Author
Born in Australia, Clive James lives in Cambridge, England. He is the author of Unreliable Memoirs ; a volume of selected poems, Opal Sunset ; the best-selling Cultural Amnesia ; and the translator of The Divine Comedy by Dante. He has written for the New York Times Book Review , The New Yorker , and The Atlantic . He is an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) and a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).
 
Published June 1, 2003 by W. W. Norton & Company. 640 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for As of This Writing

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Born and raised in Australia, a London resident for four decades, James (The Man from Japan, 1993, etc.) possesses all the strengths of the best British literary journalists—wide-ranging erudition, a knack for the perfectly turned sentence, a seemingly effortless wit—without the besetting weaknes...

| Read Full Review of As of This Writing: The Essen...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Over the course of almost 50 essays, cultural pundit James only occasionally wears out his welcome, and very infrequently misses his mark.

| Read Full Review of As of This Writing: The Essen...

Patrol

Worse you only one day to cash advance business cash advance business also ask their risk.

Dec 14 2009 | Read Full Review of As of This Writing: The Essen...

Reader Rating for As of This Writing
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×