Assassin's Heart by Sarah Ahiers

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Interestingly, Lea, and everyone else who is an assassin, has absolutely no psychological growth—they simply are killers, and it’s made out to be a glamorous job; in fact, they are seen as angels of death. Feminists will not like Assassin’s Heart.
-NY Journal of Books

Synopsis

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

 

About Sarah Ahiers

See more books from this Author
Sarah Ahiers spent her childhood running around outside with her siblings, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Now, as a grown-up, she is working toward an MFA in writing for children and young adults at Hamline University. She lives outside of Minneapolis, MN, with three dogs and a house full of critters. She has a collection of steampunk hats, and when she’s not writing she fills her time with good games, good food, good friends, and good family. To learn more about her, follow her on Twitter @sarahahiers.
 
Published February 2, 2016 by HarperTeen. 437 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Assassin's Heart
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Feb 18 2016

Ahiers’s Romeo and Juliet–inspired world of gods, angry ghosts, and assassins is darkly lush, and Lea’s voice is strong and pragmatic, making for a stylish and rich read.

Read Full Review of Assassin's Heart | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

NY Journal of Books

Below average
Reviewed by Michelle Martinez on Feb 27 2016

Interestingly, Lea, and everyone else who is an assassin, has absolutely no psychological growth—they simply are killers, and it’s made out to be a glamorous job; in fact, they are seen as angels of death. Feminists will not like Assassin’s Heart.

Read Full Review of Assassin's Heart | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for Assassin's Heart
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 80 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×