Atlantic by Simon Winchester
(Enhanced Edition)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Mr. Winchester—a trained geologist and inveterate globetrotter—is well suited to tell the story. And he tells it with the sort of panache that he has brought to previous books, such as "Krakatoa," about the volcanic disaster of 1883...His lively, lyrical telling of the ocean's story does much to sharpen our appreciation.
-WSJ online

Synopsis

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

 

About Simon Winchester

See more books from this Author
Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, including the New York Times bestsellers The Professor and the Madman, Atlantic, The Man Who Loved China, A Crack in the Edge of the World, and Krakatoa. In 2006, he was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II. Now an American citizen, he resides in western Massachusetts.
 
Published November 2, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 495 pages
Genres: History, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Atlantic
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

WSJ online

Good
Reviewed by John Steele Gordon on Nov 01 2009

Mr. Winchester—a trained geologist and inveterate globetrotter—is well suited to tell the story. And he tells it with the sort of panache that he has brought to previous books, such as "Krakatoa," about the volcanic disaster of 1883...His lively, lyrical telling of the ocean's story does much to sharpen our appreciation.

Read Full Review of Atlantic (Enhanced Edition) | See more reviews from WSJ online

Reader Rating for Atlantic
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 266 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×