Awkward by Ty Tashiro
The Science of Why We're Socially and Why That's Awesome

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...the author assures that awkwardness can be a gift and that one can be grateful for it—because he is. Tashiro offers little revelatory information, but it helps to know that you are not alone.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward—and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming—an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this—which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior.

Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it’s like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn’t pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements.

Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential—and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

 

About Ty Tashiro

See more books from this Author
Ty Tashiro, Ph.D., is a relationship expert for the Discovery Network’s Fit and Health Channel. He received his Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Minnesota and was awarded Professor of the Year at the University of Maryland and University of Colorado. Dr. Tashiro is often cited as an expert on relationship breakups, enhancing long-term relationships, and online dating. Visit him at tytashiro.net
 
Published April 25, 2017 by William Morrow. 288 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Self Help, Nature & Wildlife, Parenting & Relationships, Science & Math. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Awkward
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 02 2017

...the author assures that awkwardness can be a gift and that one can be grateful for it—because he is. Tashiro offers little revelatory information, but it helps to know that you are not alone.

Read Full Review of Awkward: The Science of Why W... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×