Bartók's Mikrokosmos by Benjamin Suchoff

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Now available in paperback! Béla Bartók's Mikrokosmos is a collection of 153 pieces for piano designed by the composer as a series graded according to difficulty. The pieces were written between 1926 and 1939, and have become by far the best-known series of teaching pieces by a major composer in the twentieth century.

This in-depth study investigates Bartók's Mikrokosmos from three main viewpoints: the genesis of the pieces, their pedagogical value, and their stylistic qualities. The book is intended for piano teachers, students, and performers as well as anyone interested in Bartók's life and work as pianist, educator, and composer.

Cloth originally published in 2002 under ISBN 0-8108-4427-3.

About Benjamin Suchoff

See more books from this Author
Benjamin Suchoff is Adjunct Professor in the Department of Ethnomusicology at the University of California, Los Angeles and a member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He has been successor trustee of the estate of Béla Bartók, curator of its New York Bartók Archive, and editor of the fifteen-volume Bartók Archive Studies in Musicology Series and the two volumes of the Bartók Archive Edition series of piano works.
Published October 21, 2004 by Scarecrow Press. 200 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Arts & Photography. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review