Battle For Empire by Sam Barone

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

Battle For Empire is the latest novel in Sam Barone’s six part series, a bronze age historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell, and Jean Auel.

In Dawn of Empire, Eskkar the warrior and Trella the slave girl come together in a mighty struggle to survive a barbarian invasion and build mankind’s first walled city. Fifteen years have passed, and under Trella’s guidance, Akkad has become the most prosperous and powerful city in the Land Between the Rivers.

Now Eskkar and Trella face new menaces to their growing empire – an invasion from the north, the return of the hostile steppes horsemen, and their rebellious son, Sargon, who threatens to destroy everything his parents have worked so hard to create.

As Eskkar confronts his former clan in a battle that only one side can survive, Sargon, the heir to the throne, falls deeper into idleness and disrepute. In desperation, his parents banish Sargon, sending him to their warrior allies from the steppes to learn honor or die. But even as he dreams of taking power from his parents, Sargon encounters Tashanella, the beautiful and gifted daughter of the clan’s chief. She shows Sargon a different path. Suddenly thrust into battle, Sargon discovers that he must learn the way of the warrior not only to survive, but to save Tashanella’s life, and the city of Akkad.

Meanwhile Bracca, Eskkar’s companion from his wild days, risks his life to bring warning of yet another danger. The mighty Elamite Empire, the near mythical land beyond the mountains, has cast its eyes on the riches of the Land Between the Rivers. The Elamites must expand to survive, and they, too, plan to invade the Land Between the Rivers and reduce its people to slavery.

Eskkar and Trella must find a way to defeat this vastly superior force led by experienced conquerors. Eskkar’s battle skills will be tested, and Sargon becomes the reluctant warrior who holds the key to Akkad salvation and his parents’ survival.
 

About Sam Barone

See more books from this Author
Sam Barone was born and raised in New York City. He spent thirty years designing and developing software, and began writing seriously after his retirement. He lives in Scottsdale, Arizona.
 
Published November 27, 2012 by Eskkar Enterprises. 490 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, Romance. Fiction

Reader Rating for Battle For Empire
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 53 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review