Battleground Pacific by Sterling Mace

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A mostly valuable testimonial of the Pacific campaign’s desperate brutality—will appeal to fans of The Pacific or Band of Brothers.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

A POWERFULLY WROUGHT MEMOIR BY A MEMBER OF WWII'S FABLED 1ST MARINE DIVISION

Sterling Mace's unit was the legendary "K-3-5" (for Company K, 3rd Battalion, 5th Regiment of the 1st Marine Division) and his story takes readers through some of the most intense action of the Pacific War, from the seldom-seen perspective of a rifleman at the point of attack.

Battleground Pacific is filled with indelible moments that begin with his childhood growing up in Queens, New York, and his run-in with the law that eventually led to his enlistment. But this is ultimately a combat tale—as violent and harrowing as any that has come before. From fighting through the fiery hell that was Peleliu to the deadly battleground of Okinawa, Mace traces his path from the fear of combat to understanding that killing another human comes just as easily as staying alive. He learns that bravery often equates to stupidity, leading to the death of close friends, but also that life goes on, with death on its heels.


Battleground Pacific is one of the most important and entertaining memoirs about the Pacific theater in WWII.

 

About Sterling Mace

See more books from this Author
STERLING MACE enlisted in the United States Marine Corps in 1942 and was stationed at Parris Island, Camp Lejeune, the Brooklyn Naval Yard, and then finally Pavuvu, before experiencing the toughest fighting the Pacific war had to offer, as a rifleman in K/3/5, at Peleliu and later on Okinawa. He was a consultant on E.B. Sledge's book, With the Old Breed. He lives in St. Pete Beach, Florida. NICK ALLEN is the son of a combat rifleman who served in Vietnam and has been interviewing combat veterans for most of his life. He lives in Bellaire, Texas.
 
Published May 8, 2012 by St. Martin's Press. 352 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, War. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Battleground Pacific
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
Apr 15 2012

A mostly valuable testimonial of the Pacific campaign’s desperate brutality—will appeal to fans of The Pacific or Band of Brothers.

Read Full Review of Battleground Pacific | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Battleground Pacific
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 129 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×