Becoming Clementine by Jennifer Niven
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Alan Furst and Sarah Blake, a spellbinding story of a secret mission and dangerous passion in World War II Paris, from the author of the New York Times bestselling All the Bright Places

After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. Their plane is shot down, and only she and five agents survive. Now they are on the run for their lives.


As they head to Paris, the beautiful aviatrix Velva Jean Hart becomes Clementine Roux, a daring woman on an epic adventure with her team to capture an operative known only as "Swan." Once settled on Rue de la Néva, Clementine works as a spy with the Resistance and finds herself falling in love with her fellow agent, Émile, a handsome and mysterious Frenchman with secrets of his own. When Clementine ends up in the most brutal prison in Paris, trying to help Émile and the team rescue Swan, she discovers the depths of human cruelty, the triumph of her own spirit, and the bravery of her team, who will stop at nothing to carry out their mission.


Readers of 22 Britannia Road, The Postmistress, and Suite Francaise will cherish Becoming Clementine—a romantic World War II adventure told from the perspective of a courageous and beautiful heroine. Niven is the author of the popular Velva Jean novels, including Velva Jean Learns to Drive and Velva Jean Learns to Fly.




From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Jennifer Niven

See more books from this Author
JENNIFER NIVEN is an author and screenwriter. She lives in Los Angeles.
 
Published September 25, 2012 by Plume. 367 pages
Genres: History, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Becoming Clementine

Huntington News

The third book in Niven's Velva Jean Hart series -- after "Velva Jean Learns to Drive" and "Velva Jean Learns to Fly" -- "Becoming Clementine" will appeal to readers familiar with authors like Alan Furst and Sarah Blake and books like "Suite Francaise" and "The Postmistress" -- books that faithfu...

Nov 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Becoming Clementine: A Novel

Reader Rating for Becoming Clementine
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 55 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×