Behind a Mask and Other Thrillers [with Biographical Introduction] by Louisa May Alcott

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888) was a true American novelist, passionate abolitionist and supporter of women's suffrage. Her foremost novel, "Little Woman", is beloved by readers who enjoy Alcott's sentimental style. Daughter of noted transcendentalist, reformer and educator, Bronson Alcott, she was influenced by such well known figures as Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne and Margaret Fuller. This collection of short narratives features strong women with quick tongues and sharper wits: "Behind a Mask or A Woman's Power" explores the deception and betrayal of Victorian England through the eyes of the strong, intelligent Jean Muir; "Pauline's Passion and Punishment," is a psychological thriller of sorts, featuring a protagonist who is unyielding in her pursuit of revenge; "The Mysterious Key and What it Opened" tells the haunting tale of a rich man's family after his mysterious death; and "The Abbot's Ghost or Maurie Treherne's Temptation," is a romantic story infused with action, holiday cheer, and supernatural thrills.

About Louisa May Alcott

See more books from this Author
Louisa May Alcott was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania, in 1832. Two years later, she moved with her family to Boston and in 1840 to Concord, which was to remain her family home for the rest of her life. Her father, Bronson Alcott, was a transcendentalist and friend of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Alcott early realized that her father could not be counted on as sole support of his family, and so she sacrificed much of her own pleasure to earn money by sewing, teaching, and churning out potboilers. Her reputation was established with Hospital Sketches (1863), which was an account of her work as a volunteer nurse in Washington, D.C. Alcott's first works were written for children, including her best-known Little Women (1868--69) and Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys (1871). Moods (1864), a "passionate conflict," was written for adults. Alcott's writing eventually became the family's main source of income. Throughout her life, Alcott continued to produce highly popular and idealistic literature for children. An Old-Fashioned Girl (1870), Eight Cousins (1875), Rose in Bloom (1876), Under the Lilacs (1878), and Jack and Jill (1881) enjoyed wide popularity. At the same time, her adult fiction, such as the autobiographical novel Work: A Story of Experience (1873) and A Modern Mephistopheles (1877), a story based on the Faust legend, shows her deeper concern with such social issues as education, prison reform, and women's suffrage. She realistically depicts the problems of adolescents and working women, the difficulties of relationships between men and women, and the values of the single woman's life.
Published October 13, 2011 by 168 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review