Being Wrong by Kathryn Schulz
Adventures in the Margin of Error

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

 

About Kathryn Schulz

See more books from this Author
Kathryn Schulz is a journalist whose work has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, the Nation, Foreign Policy, and the Huffington Post, among other publications. She is the former editor of the online magazine Grist and a former reporter and editor for the Santiago Times, of Santiago, Chile, where she covered environmental, labor, and human rights issues. She was a 2004 recipient of the Pew Fellowship in International Journalism and has reported from throughout Central and South America, Japan, and, most recently, the Middle East. A former Ohioan, Oregonian, and Brooklynite, she currently lives in New York's Hudson Valley.
 
Published May 25, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 420 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Law & Philosophy, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Being Wrong

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

“[B]eing a little wrong in the right direction is one thing,” she writes, “and being massively wrong in the wrong direction is something else entirely.” Arguing over what direction is right and wrong, of course, occupies much of our days.

| Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

... Book Review - Being Wrong - Adventures in the Margin of Error - By Kathryn
Schulz JULY 23, 2010. Kathryn Schulz ...

Jun 10 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

In the instant of uttering it, I become right squared, maybe even right factorial, logarithmically right — at any rate, really, extremely right, and really, extremely delighted about it.” Schulz is not just a quotable writer;

Jul 23 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Her book is filled with diverting and sometimes heartbreaking examples of error, but it is not, in her words, a “wrongology slide show.” She is interested “in error as an idea and as an experience: in how we think about being wrong, and how we feel about it.” The idea that error can be eradica...

Jun 10 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error by Kathryn Schulz Buy it from the Guardian bookshop Search the Guardian bookshop The armadillo proposition comes fr...

Sep 19 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

As Aristotle wrote in the Ethics, it is not good to feel shame – since it is bad to have done something one should feel ashamed of – but to do something wrong and not feel shame is a sign of wickedness.

Aug 28 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Christian Science Monitor

What’s more, “our indiscriminate enjoyment of being right is matched by an almost equally indiscriminate feeling that we are right.” This is the first of many provocative observations that Schulz explores in this charming, serious, but ultimately deficient book.

Jun 28 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Dallas News

That is the central message of journalist Kathryn Schulz's provocative and entertaining new book, Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error.

Jul 12 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Pajiba

When the verdict came down proving that she had identified the wrong man, she was horrified, but she instantly accepted her mistake and wanted to somehow make up for it.

| Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Review (Barnes & Noble)

After laying the groundwork for wrongology as a valid discipline in Part I, "The Idea of Error," Schulz employs the second part of her book, "The Origins of Error," to coolly anatomize and classify the quirks of body and mind that conduce toward error.

Jul 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Metro

Or, as Neil Young once put it, ‘Why do I keep f***ing up?’ Consolation comes in Kathryn Schulz’s edifying survey of error, in which the American journalist untangles the ‘Doh!’ of Homer Simpson – that universal refrain at the sudden realisation of a mistake – and defuses the concomitant anxieties...

Sep 21 2010 | Read Full Review of Being Wrong: Adventures in th...

Reader Rating for Being Wrong
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 206 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×