Between Each Line of Pain and Glory by Gladys Knight
My Life Story

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Her voice has been heard, now hear her words.This is the inspirational autobiography of one of the music world's greatest performers--named one of the best celebrity books of 1997 by the "San Francisco Chronicle". B&W photos.
 

About Gladys Knight

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 19, 1997 by Hyperion. 280 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Between Each Line of Pain and Glory

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

She indicates that by 1963 the Pips were big enough to have performers at the White House, but it wasn't until the mid-'60s that they signed with Motown, finally breaking through in 1967 with ``I Heard It Through the Grapevine.'' Knight is good on the subject of Motown's feudal business practices...

| Read Full Review of Between Each Line of Pain and...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In the tradition of Billie Holiday's Lady Sings the Blues and Tina Turner's I, Tina comes this thoughtful memoir from Knight, who, with her back-up group the Pips, enjoyed a string of hits (""I Heard It Through the Grapevine,"" etc.) in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

| Read Full Review of Between Each Line of Pain and...

Reader Rating for Between Each Line of Pain and Glory
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review