Blind to the Bones by Stephen Booth
A Crime Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A death in the family from hell brings detectives Fry and Cooper to a remote and unfriendly rural community in their fourth psychological thriller.

“And as it grew dark, Withens became almost entirely silent. Except for the screaming.”

A small village in the Peak District, Withens is troubled by theft and vandalism, mostly generated by a family of local delinquents, the Oxleys. Now the town is the focus of a murder investigation. A man’s body has been found on the bleak moors nearby, and the victim is an Oxley. To crack the case, DC Ben Cooper must break open the degenerate clan.

His boss, DS Diane Fry, is also in Withens. Grim new evidence has turned up in the case of a missing student, but her parents refuse to believe she could be dead.

The darkness in Withens’s heart is growing. And things are only going to get nastier …

This taut, atmospheric thriller is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Peter James.

 

About Stephen Booth

See more books from this Author
Stephen Booth is a two-time winner of the Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel. He is the author of the critically acclaimed novels "Black Dog" and "Dancing with the Virgins," Other bestsellers in his Cooper and Fry series include" Blood on the Tongue, "One Last Breath," "and Blind to the Bones,"" which earned him the prestigious Dagger in the Library Award. A former journalist, Stephen Booth lives in Nottinghamshire, England. "From the Hardcover edition.
 
Published January 7, 2014 by Witness Impulse. 643 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Blind to the Bones

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In their fourth outing (Blood on the Tongue, 2002, etc.), British investigative odd couple Diane Fry and Ben Cooper are dispatched to the remote moorland village of Withens to assure Sarah and Howard Renshaw that everything possible is being done to find their missing daughter, Emma.

| Read Full Review of Blind to the Bones: A Crime N...

Reviewing the Evidence

Creepier than the Oxleys, to be honest, is Mrs. Renfrew, who, without question, is living with the hell of not knowing if her daughter is alive or dead, but her total lack of contact with reality - dealing with psychics, calling people endlessly, harassing people, believing that everything her da...

| Read Full Review of Blind to the Bones: A Crime N...

The Best Reviews

Meanwhile Diane's peer, Detective Ben Cooper investigates the apparent murder of Neil Oxley, a roommate of Emma's who is also from Withens.

Oct 01 2003 | Read Full Review of Blind to the Bones: A Crime N...

ReviewingtheEvidence.com

The importance of families is also a theme of this book, whether it be the well adjusted Cooper family, with Ben, not quite 30, finally having moved off the family farm, visiting his schizophrenic mother in the home every week, and staying close to his brother and his family, or the Oxleys, who s...

| Read Full Review of Blind to the Bones: A Crime N...

Reader Rating for Blind to the Bones
62%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 67 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×